Current Topics: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Health Care
- Writing, Citing, & Research Help
- Black Lives Matter Movement
- Climate Change
- Hate Crimes
- Health Care
- Misinformation and Media Bias/Evaluating News
- Sexual Assault/Rape
- Sexual Harassment
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
- American Medical Association - Medical Student SectionThe American Medical Association Medical Student Section (AMA-MSS) is dedicated to representing medical students, improving medical education, developing leadership and promoting activism for the health of America. The UW Medical School student chapter operates in conjunction with the Wisconsin Medical Society (WMS) and the Dane County Medical Society (DCMS) to achieve these goals.
- Wisconsin Primary Health Care Association"The mission of the Wisconsin Primary Health Care Association is to advance the efforts of Wisconsin Community Health Centers in providing access to comprehensive, community-oriented primary health care services."
- American Medical AssociationThe AMA promotes professionalism in medicine and sets standards for medical education, practice, and ethics. This site includes news and events, information about policies and advocacy, the online edition of JAMA, and a variety of articles and resources.
- Kaiser Family Foundation (KFF)"KFF is a 'non-profit, private operating foundation focusing on the major health care issues facing the nation.' It sponsors health care policy research and communications programs. The site offers reports on issues such as insurance, prescription drugs, minority health, women's health, HIV/AIDS, and entertainment media and health. It also provides fact sheets and current health policy news."
About Health Care
This guide focuses on the availability, quality and cost of health care in the United States and examines the future direction and participation of the federal government in meeting health care needs.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: managed care and quality, medicare and cost*, patients' bill of rights, Obama and health care reform, fee-for-service health care, health maintenance organization* and women, medicine and cost*, social security, medicaid, health care industry, health facilities, medical service*, health insurance, universal health care, national health insurance, and health care and uninsured.
Overview Resources - Background Information
- CQ ResearcherContains weekly in-depth reports that cover the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center(OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, Office of Minority HealthThe mission of OMH is to improve the health of racial and ethnic populations through the development of effective health policies and programs that help to eliminate disparities in health. This site includes data, statistics, reports, newsletters and links.
- Public Agenda Issue Guides: Health CarePublic Agenda, a nonpartisan opinion research and civic engagement organization, presents public opinion and arguments related to health care reform.
- U.S. Department of Health and Human ServicesThe Department of Health and Human Services is the United States government's principal agency for protecting the health of all Americans and providing essential human services.
Health Care and the 2020 Election
Health care is traditionally a significant issue in electoral politics, and this has been the case concerning the 2020 election thus far. As such, we've collected some resources for you to understand where the candidates stand on this divisive issue. As of now, the 2020 Republican candidates have not yet released health care policies, but this list will be updated when they do.
- Where 2020 Democrats stand on Medicare-for-allThe Washington Post helpfully collects the views on one the defining issues of the 2020 Democratic Primary: Medicare-for-All or Something Else?
- Health Care: See Where The 2020 Democratic Candidates StandNPR has similarly collected and categorized the responses and plans of the Democratic Candidates on how best to provide health care to Americans and the role the government should play in the financing and provision of care.
- Health CarePolitico breaks the issue of health care into four components to analyze the candidates' plans: ACA/Coverage Expansion, Abortion, Drug Costs, and Medicare For All.
- Exposing the Twenty Medical Myths: Why everything you know about health care is wrong and how we can make it right by Arthur Garson; Ryan HoleywellCall Number: ebookISBN: 9781538131190Publication Date: 2019-10-22
- No Apparent Distress: A Doctor's Coming-of-Age on the Front Lines of American Medicine by Rachel Pearson Pearson tells the story of her experience learning the medical profession while struggling against an unequal health care system, arguing against the consignment of poor and non-white patients to the care of inexperienced doctors still developing their skills.ISBN: 9780393249248Publication Date: 2017-05-09
- Poverty and the Myths of Health Care Reform by Richard(Buz) Cooper Dr. Cooper explores the relationship between health and poverty, arguing that a major economic and human cost to our health care system is the deep poverty many patients experience.ISBN: 9781421420226Publication Date: 2016-07-08
- Introduction to US Health Policy: The Organization, Financing, and Delivery of Health Care in America by Donald A. Barr In this work of historical analysis, Dr. Donald Barr examines the coming together of the US healthcare system, including the formation of public health programs, the changes in the health insurance industry, and the attempts to change the public-private relationship through legislative and regulatory action.ISBN: 9781421420714Publication Date: 2016-08-23
- Health Care in America: A History by John C. Burnham The history of health care in the United States is a long one. Burnham examines this history since the arrival of Europeans on this continent, looking for continuities and ruptures in the story of disease and care in North America.ISBN: 9781421416076Publication Date: 2015-04-09
Articles - Scholarly and Popular
- Academic Search PremierIncludes scholarly and popular articles on many topics.
- SocINDEX with Full TextSocINDEX with Full Text includes full text for "core coverage" sociology journals, books, and conference proceedings.
- PubMedIncludes articles on the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, health care systems, and pre-clinical sciences.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Nursing and Allied Health Literature)Includes articles on nursing, biomedicine, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and other allied health disciplines.
- SocINDEX with Full TextIncludes articles on sociology and social sciences topics.
Statistics and Data
- Health Insurance Data from the Census BureauThe Census Bureau collects health insurance data using three national surveys: the Current Population Survey's Annual Social and Economic Supplement (CPS ASEC), the American Community Survey (ACS) and the Survey of Income and Program Participation (SIPP).
- National Center for Health StatisticsIncludes data on health insurance coverage and utilization.
- Statistical Abstracts of the United States: Health Care Resources & UtilizationWe produce statistics on the prevalence of disability and fertility, the percentages of people with and without health insurance—even down to the county level through Small Area Health Insurance Estimates (SAHIE), and the expenses and investments made by health care establishments.
- Critical conditionInvestigates the health care crisis in America by following a diverse group of uninsured individuals as they battle critical illnesses without proper care.
- Remaking American Medicine : Health Care for the 21st CenturyExamines critical health care issues facing America today, including patient safety, medical and medication errors, hospital-acquired infections, family-centered care and the effective management of chronic disease. The program focuses on the advances being made in improving the quality of patient care and features profiles of providers and patients who are working together to change the way health care is provided in the United States.
- Sick Around the World"Four in five Americans say the U.S. health-care system needs "fundamental" change. Can the U.S. learn anything from the rest of the world about how to run a health-care system, or are these nations so culturally different from us that their solutions would simply not be acceptable to Americans?"
- SickoMichael Moore interviews Americans who have been denied treatment by the United States health care insurance companies -- companies who sacrifice essential health services in order to maximize profits. Sheds light on the how complicated it can become for communities and individuals, and the sacrifices they have made when they are denied health care coverage.
- Television News ArchiveBrought to you by UW-Madison Libraries, the Television News Archive is a searchable collection of network news television broadcasts from 1968 to the present.