Skip to main content

Wisconsin Historical Society Newspaper Collections : Current Newspapers

Information about the newspapers at the Wisconsin Historical Society and beyond.

Current Newspapers Online

Archive of Wisconsin Newspapers
A collection of more than 200 daily and weekly Wisconsin newspapers. Newspapers are searchable and are included cover to cover in PDF format, starting in 2005 to the present, with an embargo delay of 60 days. Select titles include historical coverage starting in the 1850s. Titles include the Wisconsin State Journal, Capital Times, Badger Herald, Daily Cardinal, Isthmus, and Madison Times, among others. The Milwaukee Journal Sentinel is not included. A service of the Wisconsin Newspaper Association. Available FREE to all Wisconsin residents through Badgerlink.


The databases below contain thousands of newspapers. Search keywords to find specific articles across many titles.  Generally, content in these databases was published in the past 15-20 years to date.  Pictures, advertisements, and special sections are often not included. Access from computers inside the Historical Society Reading Room, of through your NetID.

Contact Us


Call the library: 608-264-6535

Email the library: 
asklibrary@wisconsinhistory.org

Current Newspapers at the Society

The strength of the Society's paper and microfilm news collection lies with historical newspapers, not the most currently published editions.

Where can I read today's daily paper?

The Wisconsin Historical Society library reading room does not have current print daily newspapers. Here are alternative ways to access today's local newspaper:

1. Your local public library will have a copy of the local newspaper available.

2. Databases accessible via computers in the Historical Society's library reading room provide access to thousands of newspapers digitally. Click here to access.

3. UW-Madison Memorial Library Periodicals Rooms maintains a large collection of current, print newspapers. To visit the Periodicals Room, stop at the entrance desk with your photo ID to obtain a visitor's pass.