If you're looking for a newspaper in a specific locality, but aren't sure what titles were published during the time period you need, we can help. 

• Consult the Guide to Wisconsin Newspapers
  Download this document as a PDF, then use the Find function to search for the name of your location.

• Consult the Map of Wisconsin Digital Newspapers
  This map includes city, newspaper title, online date range, accessibility, and link to the correct database.

• Contact the library
  We can tell you what newspapers were published in the location you need during a particular time period. We'll need the name of the municipality and county in which it's located.
  Call: 608-264-6535
  Email: AskLibrary@wisconsinhistory.org

• Archive of Wisconsin Newspapers
  A collection of more than 200 daily and weekly Wisconsin newspapers. Newspapers are searchable and are included cover to cover in PDF format, starting in 2005 to the present, with an embargo delay of 60 days. Select titles include historical coverage starting in the 1850s. Titles include the Wisconsin State Journal, Capital Times, Badger Herald, Daily Cardinal, Isthmus, and Madison Times, among others. The Milwaukee Journal Sentinel is not included. A service of the Wisconsin Newspaper Association. Available FREE to all Wisconsin residents through Badgerlink.

• Chronicling America
  In 2015 the Wisconsin Historical Society joined the National Digital Newspaper Program, a partnership between the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress to provide access to historic newspaper published between 1836 and 1922. NEH awards support state projects to select and digitize historically significant titles that are aggregated and permanently maintained by LC at Chronicling America. Chronicling America is a FREE database that can be used anywhere. 

• NewspaperARCHIVE.com
  Wisconsin newspapers on NewspaperARCHIVE.com can be accessed from computers inside the Historical Society Reading Room, or through your NetID.

​

Call the library: 608-264-6535

Email the library: 
asklibrary@wisconsinhistory.org

On this page you'll find information about the Wisconsin Historical Society library's collection of  Wisconsin newspapers and ways to access them.

The Wisconsin Historical Society library reading room does not have current print daily newspapers. Here are alternative ways to access today's local newspaper:

1. Your local public library will have a copy of the local newspaper available.

2. Databases accessible via computers in the Historical Society's library reading room provide access to thousands of newspapers digitally. Click here to access.

3. UW-Madison Memorial Library Periodicals Rooms maintains a large collection of current, print newspapers. To visit the Periodicals Room, stop at the entrance desk with your photo ID to obtain a visitor's pass.