General Philosophy : Philosophers
Early Modern Philosophy Texts
- Early Modern Philosophy TextsOn this site you will find versions several classics of early modern philosophy, and a few from the 19th century, prepared with a view to making them easier to read without being encumbered by antiquated language, lengthy sentences, or page-long paragraphs, while leaving intact the main arguments, doctrines, and lines of thought.
Philosophers and Philosophies
Guides, Companions, Handbooks, and Introductions to Philosophies and Philosophers
Guides and companions can be a good first approach for learning more about a particular philosopher or topic in philosophy.
Search or browse larger collections and series to find a title that meets your need.
- The Allan Nadler Spinoza Collection at Memorial LibraryGuide to books owned by Professor and Rabbi Allan Nadler (Drew University) that were donated through the Center for Jewish Studies to Memorial Library. They are all on the topic of the philosopher Benedictus (Baruch) Spinoza (1632-1677), with most in Yiddish, Hebrew, or German.
- Blackwell Companions to Philosophy(Link searches UW-Madison Catalog) This series, written by leading scholars, is meant as a student reference on the major philosophers and philosophical topics. Some titles available as e-resources, others as print volumes.
- Blackwell Philosophy Guides(Link searches UW-Madison Catalog) The Guides are devoted to clarifying the history and logic of the central themes and issues in philosophy.
- The Bloomsbury dictionary of eighteenth-century German philosophersMemorial LibraryStacks Regular Size Shelving
B2615 .D53 2016 - Cambridge Companions to Philosophy, Religion, and CultureLinks to Cambridge Companions Online; scroll dow for "Philosophy, Religions, and Culture." Collections of essays intended to serve as reference works for an inter-disciplinary audience of students and non-specialists, addressing topics and figures ranging from Plato through Kant to Habermas, and philosophical movements such as the Scottish Enlightenment and German Idealism.
- Heretics! The wondrous (and dangerous) beginnings of modern philosophyGraphic narrative by UW-Madison's own Steven Nadler (and his son) tells the exciting story of the seventeenth-century thinkers who challenged authority--sometimes risking excommunication, prison, and even death--to lay the foundations of modern philosophy and science and help usher in a new world.
- Internet Encylopedia of PhilosophyProvides detailed, scholarly information on key topics and philosophers in all areas of philosophy
- Nietzsche SourceA site devoted to the publication of scholarly content on the work and life of Friedrich Nietzsche. Includes issues of the journal Studia Nietzscheana, the complete Digitale Kritische Gesamtausgabe Werke und Briefe, as well as facsimile reproductions of the entire Nietzsche archive
- Oxford Handbooks(Link searches UW-Madison Catalog) Books in this series offer thorough introductions to topics in the discipline.
- Oxford Readings in PhilosophyLink searches UW-Madison Catalog) "Bring[s] together important writings in major areas of philosophical inquiry, selected from a variety of sources, mostly periodicals, which may not be conveniently available to the university student or the general reader."
- Routledge Contemporary Introductions to Philosophy(Link searches UW-Madison Catalog) "This series is designed for students who already have completed an introductory-level course in philosophy. Each book introduces a core general subject in contemporary philosophy and offers students an accessible but substantial transition from introductory to higher-level college work in that subject."
- Routledge Philosophy Guidebooks(Link searches UW-Madison Catalog) "Each GuideBook considers a major philosopher and a key area of their philosophy by focusing upon an important text – situating the philosopher and the work in a historical context, considering the text in question and assessing the philosopher’s contribution to contemporary thought."
- Websites about PhilosophersHosted by KU Leuven
- Wikipedia List of PhilosophersAlphabetical list of philosophers broken up into several pages. To look up a philosopher by name, click on the first letter of his or her last name at the top of the page. To find philosophers by core area, field, major philosophical tradition, ethnicity, or time periods, see the subheadings further below.
- zeno.org (Philosophie)Full text library of works by important philosophers from antiquity to the beginning of the 20th century (in German).
