Current Europe : Other Resources

Provides an instant guide to history, politics and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions.

Choose by country for links to organizations active on racism and minority issues, including disability, gays and lesbians and women.

Includes world daily news coverage in these categories: current events, business, sport, culture, no comment, European Union, sci-tech, and weather.

Europa offers basic information on how the EU works, the latest EU news and events, and links to EU information on the websites of EU institutions and agencies.

Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection

This organization's objective is to fight poverty and social exclusion within the EU; the site presents a substantial number of full-text publications relating to this concern as well as links to related organizations.

The European Center for Minority Issues (ECMI) conducts practice-oriented research, provides information and documentation, and offers advisory services concerning minority-majority relations in Europe.

Current news plus in-depth information on the environment in Europe by theme or region.

Information on the Governments of the World.

Internet’s largest site devoted to vexillology (the study of flags). Here you can read more than 49,000 pages about flags and view more than 93,000 images of flags of countries, organizations, states, territories, districts and cities, both past and present.

OANDA uses innovative computer and financial technology to provide Internet-based forex trading and currency information services to everyone, from individuals to large corporations.

A major archival resource for lesbian and gay materials, with an extensive page of offsite links.

Very useful news updates and links to lesbian / gay organizations.

Includes data on migration and foreign populations and country profiles for many, though not all, Western European countries.

Emphasizes sites offering full texts of laws, regulations and court decisions; attempts to identify "the most useful and reliable law sites."

Categories are "Organizations," "Governments," "Media," "Elections," and "Parties."

Emphasis is on Germany-related and German-language sites, but other languages and topics are included.

Developed by librarians of the Western European Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries, this gateway offers access by country, historical period, and genre.