Current Europe : Reference Resources

Statistics

A variety of statisical information for Europe and the EU is available on the web, as well as in print.

Europa: Information and Contacts: Statistics
This site on the Europa server provides some statistical data organized by topic.
Eurostat
Eurostat is the major producer of data for the EU. Since October 1, 2004, the public has free access to all Eurostat data and publications from the web site.
Eurostat Yearbook
Call Number: HA1107.5 E976

Charts and tables on all aspects of the EU, organized by broad topics.
Market Access Database
Trade statistics based on Eurostat's COMEXT system. Import and export data for the EU-15 by broad product categories.
Source OECD: Statistics
his database, produced by the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development, includes a great deal of statistical data on the EU and individual European countries.

Country Studies / Area Handbooks
Analyses of countries prepared by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress.
Digital National Security Archive
Over 35,000 declassified primary documents relating to US foreign policy since 1945 grouped in 12 collections. Extensive record descriptions and full text included.
Historical Research in Europe
Database with information on libraries and archives; accessible through broad subject categories or keyword search.
International and Geopolitical Research
Compiled by Library staff, this web page leads to sites which "provide information available electronically about countries." Both licensed and free resources are included.
WESSWEB
Some countries list a "Reference Shelf" for a collection of reference tools including dictionaries, encyclopedias, directories and more.
World Factbook
Overviews of all countries, including brief information on geography, people, government, economy, membership in international organizations, communications and defense forces. Includes maps and flags.