Children's & Young Adult Literature and Resources : Beyond Books
Beyond books: Exploring other media formats
Children and young adults consume a vast array of media beyond books. This page provides information on a variety of media types, such as graphic novels, board games, and maker technologies.
Board games & more
Dragons in the Stacks by
ISBN: 9781610692618Publication Date: 2014-10-17A one-stop, complete guide to tabletop role-playing games for novice librarians as well as seasoned players. Dragons in the Stacks explains why RPGs are so effective at holding teenagers' attention, identifies their specific benefits, outlines how to select and maintain a RPG collection, and demonstrates how they can enhance teen services and be used in teen programs.
- Games in LibrariesThe Games and Gaming Round Table (GameRT) of the American Library Association provides a venue for librarians interested in the use of games and gaming in libraries of all types a place to gather and share.
Comics & graphic novels
- Comics Worth ReadingComics Worth Reading is the longest-running independent review site online that covers all genres of comic books, including graphic novels, independent press, alternative, manga, graphic memoir, superheroes, and mainstream.
- Grand Comics DatabaseGrand Comics Database is a nonprofit, internet-based organization of international volunteers dedicated to building an open database covering all printed comics throughout the world. This fully searchable and sortable database includes information on creator credits, story details, and other information.
- No Flying No TightsNo Flying No Tights is a website created and maintained by Brookline Public Library's Teen Librarian, Robin B., who describes the website as "...one of the first in-depth resources for librarians about comics and graphic novels." As of 2021, the site has been recognized by School Library Journal as well as the Association for Library Service to Children, and features reviews of comic books, graphic novels, manga, and anime.
- Black Lives Matter, Black Literature Matters - Comics Reading ListPublished by the American Library Association in 2020, this list of "50 comics titles for Juvenile, Teen (YA), and Adult audiences is centered on Black creators, Black stories, and Black histories for all ages. "
- Graphic Novels and Comics Roundtable - Resources and ToolkitsA subset of the American Library Association, The Graphic Novels and Comics Round Table (GNCRT) "is a collaborative organization dedicated to supporting library staff in all aspects of engaging with graphic novels and comics, including collection development, programming, and advocacy." This webpage includes resources and toolkits for librarians seeking to diversify their library's graphic novels and comics books collections.
Makertech
These maker technologies, or "makertech," facilitate exploration of STEAM concepts. These items are available for check out from the iSchool Library!
- Makey MakeysMakey Makeys are small electronic kits that can be used to make every day objects into computer keys. Using a circuit board, USB cable, alligator clips, and (virtually any) object you can think of, the kits create closed loop electrical circuits that can send keyboard strokes or mouse click signals to a computer or webpage. An invention/coding activity for virtually any age. Visit the Makey Makey website for lesson plans, activities, and more.
Select kits are available for checkout at the iSchool Library service desk. - OzobotsOzobots are small programmable robots that can be used to teach coding skills for grade levels K-12. The Ozobot website features lesson plans and activities.
Select bots are available for checkout upon request at the iSchool Library service desk. - Snap Circuits Jr.Recommended for students ages 8 and up, Snap Circuits Jr. provide hands-on experience with designing and building functioning electrical circuits. The kit comes with a colorful manual.
A Snap Circuits Jr. is available for checkout upon request at the iSchool Library service desk.