- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- iSchool Library
- Children's & Young Adult Literature and Resources
- Scholarly & Professional Resources
Children's & Young Adult Literature and Resources : Scholarly & Professional Resources
Featured books
The Bloomsbury Introduction to Children's and Young Adult Literature by ISBN: 9781472575548Publication Date: 2017-11-16From Maria Edgeworth, Dr Seuss and Lewis Carroll to Sherman Alexie, Sharon Flake, and Gene Luen Yang, this is a comprehensive introduction to studying the infinitely varied worlds of literature for children and young adults.Young Adult Resources Today by
ISBN: 9780810893115Publication Date: 2014-05-21This is the first comprehensive young adult library services textbook specifically written for today's multidimensional information landscape. The authors integrate a research-focused information behavior approach with a literature-focused resources approach, and bring together in one volume key issues related to research, theory, and practice in the provision of information services to young adults.Young Adult Literature by
ISBN: 9780838914625Publication Date: 2016-09-01This is an excellent resource for YA librarians who want to sharpen their readers' advisory skills, educators and teachers who work with young people, and anyone else who wants to understand where YA lit has been and where it's heading.Reading Like a Girl by
ISBN: 9781496804471Publication Date: 2015-09-08By examining the novels of critically and commercially successful authors such as Sarah Dessen (Someone Like You), Stephenie Meyer (the Twilight series), and Laurie Halse Anderson (Speak), Reading Like a Girl explores the use of narrative intimacy as a means of reflecting and reinforcing larger, often contradictory, cultural expectations regarding adolescent women, interpersonal relationships, and intimacy.
Scholarly & professional resources
These resources are useful for scholarly research and exploring critical perspectives in children's and young adult literature. Use these resources to establish a better understanding of research, theories, and professional wisdom to guide your practice.
Databases
These databases feature journals that publish scholarly and professional articles about children's and young adult literature, child development, and education.
- Education Research CompleteEducation Research Complete is a bibliographic and full-text database covering scholarly research and information in all fields of education, from early childhood to higher ed, including educational specialty fields (e.g. multilingual education, health education, testing), curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
- ERIC - Educational Resources Information CenterERIC (the Educational Resource Information Center) indexes more than 1.3 million bibliographic records in education research and resources. Materials include journal articles (the majority peer-reviewed), books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and others. Over 20% of ERIC records link to the full-text article.
- Library Literature and Information Science Full TextThis database includes full-text, indexing and abstracts for journals covering subjects related to librarianship, classification and cataloging.
Professional organizations
- American Association of School Librarians (AASL)AASL is the only national professional membership organization focused on school librarians and the school library community.
- Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC)ALSC is the world's largest organization dedicated to the support and enhancement of library service to children. From creative programming and best practices to continuing education and professional connections—ALSC members are innovators in the field of children's library service.
- Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA)YALSA brings together key stakeholders from the areas of libraries, education, research, out of school time, youth development and more to develop and deliver resources to libraries that expand their capacity to support teen learning and enrichment and to foster healthy communities.
- We Need Diverse BooksWe Need Diverse Books is a non-profit, grassroots organization that advocates essential changes in the publishing industry to produce and promote literature that reflects and honors the lives of all young people. The WNDB website includes resources for parents, librarians, and educators.
While not specifically focused on children and young adults, these organizations actively seek to promote the development of library collections, staff, and services representative of the diversity of identities and information needs in our communities.
- American Indian Library AssociationAILA advocates for the library-related needs of American Indians and Alaska Natives. Every two years, AILA selects the winners and honorees for the American Indian Youth Literature Award in the categories of Best Picture Book, Best Middle Grade Book, and Best Young Adult Book.
- Asian Pacific American Librarians Association (APALA)APALA provides support to APA librarians and advocates for library services to APA communities. Annual APALA literature awards recognize outstanding works about Asian/Pacific Americans and their heritage, including award categories for Adult Fiction/Graphic Novel, Adult Nonfiction, Children’s Literature, Youth Literature, and Picture Books.
- Black Caucus of the American Library Association (BCALA)BCALA advocates for the development, promotion, and improvement of library services and resources for Black communities; and provides leadership for the recruitment and professional development of Black librarians. BCALA compiles an annual "Best of the Best" booklist for children and young adults that is organized by age group and features Black authors and artists.
- REFORMAREFORMA actively seeks to promote the development of library collections to include Spanish-language and Latino oriented materials, to recruit Latinx library workers, and to advocate for the needs of Latinx communities. REFORMA is a co-sponsor of the Pura Belpré Award along with Association for Library Service to Children (ALSC) and the Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA).