- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- International Gender and Women's Studies Topics
- Activists and Other Websites
International Gender and Women's Studies Topics : Activists and Other Websites
Human Rights: Major Sites
For pointers to basic resources on human rights, use Human Rights: an Undergraduate Research Guide, from College Library.
Large General Human Rights Sites That Can Be Searched for Women/Gender Information
- HURISEARCH searches and links to human rights documents mounted by 1500 sites in 58 languages (search can be limited by language). It is from Huridocs Human Rights Information and Documentation Systems, Switzerland.
- Human Rights Internet site contains a searchable database of human rights organizations that can be used to identify organizations that work on women/women's rights. Use the drop-down menu under "Organization Type" to find women's organizations. Use the menu under "Issues that these organizations deal with" to find organizations that work on women's and related issues. Select "women," "women's rights," "domestic violence," "elections," "food/hunger," etc. Limit to a country of interest or residence, if desired.
- The United States Department of State issues Human Rights Reports on a country-by-country basis annually. The State Department also issues Trafficking in Persons Reports annually that include country-by-country narratives.
- University of Minnesota Human Rights Library links to thousands of items, including bibliographies, treaties, U.S. human rights documents, U.N. documents, material on human rights education, regional information, and more. Includes a page of Women and Human Rights links, a massive Bibliography for Research on International Human Rights Law, compiled by David Weissbrodt and Marci Hoffman, the African Human Rights Resource Center, topical guides, and much more.
Sites Specifically on Women's Human Rights
Association of Women's Rights in Development (AWID). The site includes news & analysis section and more.
Women's Human Rights Resources section of the DIANA Project. This is a massive database maintained by the University of Toronto Law School Library of articles, documents, and websites pertaining to international and Canadian women's rights law.
- Rutgers Center for Women's Global Leadership Poster Collection. This is a digitized collection at Rutgers of 300 posters from women's human rights organizations. The collection is featured on the Center's website, which also includes many other useful links.
Global Database of Quotas for Women surveys the use of electoral quotas for women on a country-by-country basis. Quotas are places reserved for women in legislative bodies and political parties, one mechanism for achieving gender equality in political institutions. The database is connected to the IDEA (International Institute for Democracy and Electoral Assistance)website
International Women's Democracy Center is an organization that was established to "strengthen women's global leadership through training, education, networking and research in all facets of democracy." Site includes program descriptions, timelines, and a calendar of upcoming events
AWORC Asian Women's Resource Exchange)
International Indigenous Women's Forum
International Women's Tribune Centre