Skip to main content

We are here to help

Contact Us

Introductory research guide for history of science and technology : Selected bibliographies

Introductory guide to basic bibliographies, journals, and reference works for history of science and technology

Bibliographical sources

History of Science, Technology, and Medicine. Now available through EbscoHost and licensed for UW-Madison use by the Libraries, this database integrates the Isis current bibliography of the history of science from 1975 to the present with references from the annual Current bibliography of the history of technology (published in the journal Technology and culture) for two decades from 1987, as well as references from the Bibliografia italiana di storia della scienza and the Wellcome Library for the History and Understanding of Medicine. The database includes hundreds of thousandsrecords, including journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, and maps. For citations of earlier articles and books, see print bibliographies such as the Isis cumulative bibliography (below), annual bibliographies published in journals like Isis or other databases relevant to historical scholarship.

World History of Science Online (WHSO) offers basic information about current activities in the field of history of science and technology, including links to selected journal websites, among other categories of information.  

PubMed, developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), provides access to MEDLINE, a database of bibliographic citations and abstracts from nearly 4,500 journals in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, health care systems, and pre-clinical sciences. It includes coverage of medical history.

Isis cumulative bibliography: A bibliography of the history of science formed from the annual Isis current bibliographies. Covering 1913-1965, 1966-1975, 1976-1985, 1986-1995. Memorial Library Reference Stacks Room 262. Q125 I12 [etc.] Some volumes available in other campus libraries. Derived from the annual bibliographies contained in the journal isis.

A Current bibliography, formerly known as the Critical bibliography, appeared annually as part of the journal Isis. Starting in 1989, every fifth issue of Isis is shelved as part of Isis current bibliography of the history of science and its cultural influences. Memorial Library Reference Stacks Room 262. Q125 I52 (e.g. no.305,310,etc.).

All but the most recent volumes of Isis, including the annual current/critical bibliography, have been digitized as part of JSTOR: The scholarly journal archive. 

The Current bibliography in the history of technology began to appear annually in the journal Technology and culture in 1964; in 1990 it began to be published as a separate issue. Memorial Library Stacks AP T2568.

All but the most recent volumes of Technology and culture, including annual instances of the Current bibliography in the history of technology, have also been digitized as part of JSTOR.

Find It

Locate a newspaper title or article when you have a citation using Find It.

Find It Link

Library Catalog

WorldCat

Search for holdings in libraries across the U.S. and worldwide


...or use WorldCat First Search, which shows in search listings whether an item is held by UW-Madison