Tools for Research in Library & Information Studies : Other LIS Resources
An introduction to resources and research techniques for Library & Information Studies.
Introduction to other LIS resources
The functions of libraries and related organizations are multi-faceted, and sometimes it can be helpful to search for information from resources that do not focus specifically on library & information studies. The following lists describes a few of those resources.
A few databases provide shallow coverage of many disciplines. These resources can be good for beginning research, but usually need to be supplemented with more specific search techniques. The following descriptions each come from the UW library's database information pages.
- Academic SearchAcademic Search Premier is a multi-disciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,650 journals, including approximately 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. A total of 8,450 journals are indexed and abstracted.
- Web of Science (formerly Web of Knowledge)The Web of Science is a combination of three databases: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It indexes more than 8,000 peer-reviewed journals, providing complete bibliographic data and author abstracts. Every item of significance is listed: articles, reviews, letters, notes, corrections, and editorials. In addition to access by author, title, and institution, it is also possible to search by cited authors and to find articles sharing one or more cited reference. It is possible to search the three databases independently or in any combination. Live links to electronic journals with full text are included for some publishers.
- Reference SourcesThe University of Wisconsin--Madison Libraries keep a large list of online reference sources like encyclopedias, almanacs, and dictionaries. This list provides quick access to most reference questions.
Newspapers and Current Sources
- Newspapers and Current SourcesIf you are looking for newspaper sources, the UW-Madison Libraries have put together a comprehensive newspaper research guide.
- ERIC (Education Resource Information Center)ERIC indexes more than 1.3 million bibliographic records in education research and resources. Materials include journal articles (the majority peer-reviewed), books, research syntheses, conference papers, technical reports, policy papers, and others. Over 20% of ERIC records link to the full-text article. The ERIC website currently indexes approx. 1000 education journals including citations from the former print indexes, Current Index of Journals in Education (CIJE) and Resources in Education Index (REI). ERIC also indexes non-journal or grey literature from more than 760 sources such as non-profit organizations, professional associations, state agencies, federal agencies, etc.
- Education Resource CompleteEducation Research Complete is a bibliographic and full-text database covering scholarly research and information in all fields of education, from early childhood to higher ed, including educational specialty fields (e.g. multilingual education, health education, testing), curriculum instruction, administration, policy, funding, and related social issues. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 2,200 journals and full text for over 1,300 journals, ca. 1900 conference papers, and over 550 books and monographs.
Other Disciplinary Resources
- ProQuest One Business (formerly ABI Inform)A solid resource indexing business sources.
- Alternative Press IndexIndexes "300 alternative, radical, and left publications that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change."
- Communication and Mass Media CompleteA general broad database of communication sources.
- Dissertations & ThesesProquest's database of dissertations.
- GPO AccessOfficial information from the three branches of government.
- PubMedIndexes a vast selection of medical resources.
- PsycInfoIndexes psychology resources.
- SocINDEXIndexes core sociology journals.