Tools for Research in Library & Information Studies : Digital Repositories
An introduction to resources and research techniques for Library & Information Studies.
Introduction to digital repositories
A digital repository is a collection of online resources. There are two primary types of digital repository: institutional and disciplinary. Institutional repositories are collections of institution specific resources. For example, the University of Wisconsin's institutional repository is MINDS@UW.
- MINDS@UWThe materials for MINDS@UW are added by UW faculty and staff.
- dListA collection of mostly North American sources about library and information science.
- E-LISAn international collection of sources about library and information science. Has a large collection of European sources.
- Open Access Directory from Simmons College BostonA list of disciplinary repositories by subject
SPARC
SPARC, Scholarly Publishing and Academic Resources Coalition, collects a set of resources "helpful for those interested in establishing, accessing, or just learning about online repositories, both institutional and disciplinary." SPARC was developed by the Association of Research Libraries in 1997-98 and includes member organizations mostly from universities and research libraries. SPARC aims to improve access to scholarly materials.
- SPARCTheir SPARC repository collection contains position papers, lists of meetings and events, and locations of institutional repositories.
OAIster
- OAIsteris a union catalog that indexes open access digital materials. It provides access to over 1100 different collections and contains 23 million records.
OAIster is different than a digital repository because it only links to the resources of other collections.
Repository Resources
- Dictionary entry for institutional repositoriesFrom the Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science
- Dictionary entry for open access repositoryFrom the Online Dictionary for Library and Information Science
- Wikipedia entry for digital librariesFrom Wikipedia
- Wikipedia entry for institutional repositoryFrom Wikipedia