Copyright for Digital Media Assignments : Images
This guide provides resources regarding copyright for students using images, video, and music for Digital Media Assignments.
Images You Can Use
When using any of the sources listed below, review the copyright and/or licensing agreement associated with each source. Even though the mission of the site is to be freely open, reuse or alteration may be restricted because of copyright or licensing.
- Openverse vi Creative CommonsDatabase of digital media works available for others to build upon legally and to share.
- UW Campus Photo LibraryDatabase of photos from UW Communications.
- flickrImage hosting website where some images are freely open to use.
- Open Clip ArtImages that are in the public domain and can be used any way you’d like.
- Getty ImagesGetty Images has recently made its photos free to use on blogs and social media websites and has an embed tool to use. There will be a small “Getty images” in the bottom right corner of the images.
- Advanced Google ImagesFilter Google Images in Advanced search for results that have usage rights.
- Earth Science World Image BankDatabase of geoscience images available for educational use.
- Science.gov Image SearchFederated search of biological and environmental, oceanic and atmospheric, and aeronautics and space images. Search and select multimedia to get images.
- World ImagesFree images from California State University that focus on art and can be used for non-profit educational purposes with credit to the copyright holder.
- Wikimedia CommonsMaterial that is posted to Wikimedia commons by users. Most of the items are free. Information is posted below each item about how it can be used.
Images Copyright Info
- Using Images ResponsiblyResource list for using, reproducing, and searching for images from Duke University.
Search UW Digital Collections
- UW Digital CollectionsFind images in the UW-Madison's Digital Collections Center and other digital image collections at UW-Madison.
Restricted & Licensed Image Databases
These image databases are licensed by UW-Madison Libraries for use of students/faculty/staff.
NOTE: You will need to read the terms and conditions when considering copyright issues for resuing images in these databases.
