Musical Instruments : Banjo
Lists and links to resources to help you learn more about the entire panoply of musical instruments.
More Online Reference
The following online reference resources contain information on a broad range of instruments. Try searching for yours!
- American Memory Project (free Web)An online multimedia library maintained by the Library of Congress. Enter the instrument name in the top right-hand search box to find images, audio recordings, and more!
- Folkstreams (free Web)A free streaming collection of documentary videos on American folk cultures, dating from the 1960s to the present.
- Garland Encyclopedia of World Music (UW-Licensed)Extensive encyclopedia articles with bibliographies, audio examples, and images.
- National Music Museum (free Web)The National Music Museum is located on the University of South Dakota-Vermillion campus. Browse their website's virtual tours and instrument checklists for photographs, descriptions, and historical information on a wide range of instruments.
- Oxford Music Online (UW-Licensed)Contains Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music. Find extensive encyclopedia articles and bibliographies here!
- Virginia Tech Multimedia Music Dictionary (free Web)A collaboration between the Virginia Tech Department of Music and Virginia Tech Learning Technologies. Find audio clips and technical descriptions of instruments here!
Online Resources Hosted by Universities and Museums (free Web)
Search smart with Google:
Do you want only information hosted by University websites? Add "site:.edu" to any keyword!
Sample Google searches:
banjos site:.edu
electric guitar site:.edu
Sample websites:
- American Banjo MuseumWebsite of the American Banjo Museum in Oklahoma City.
- Banjo Women of West Virginia and Eastern Kentucky: A Multimedia ExhibitThis exhibit was prepared by Susan A. Eacker and Geoff Eacker while 1997 scholars-in-residence at Marshall University’s Center for the Study of Ethnicity and Gender in Appalachia (CSEGA).
- The University Museum: BanjoBanjo information page within the Southern Illinois University Carbondale's online exhibit, "Words, Wood & Wire: The History of Southern Illinois as Told through Folk Songs and Musical Instruments."
Online Resources by Musicians and Enthusiasts (free Web)
- The Banjo ProjectAn informative website that bills itself as "a cross-media cultural odyssey." Lots of videos and links to other helpful sites.
