Musical Instruments : Mandolin

An online multimedia library maintained by the Library of Congress. Enter the instrument name in the top right-hand search box to find images, audio recordings, and more!

A free streaming collection of documentary videos on American folk cultures, dating from the 1960s to the present.

Extensive encyclopedia articles with bibliographies, audio examples, and images.

The National Music Museum is located on the University of South Dakota-Vermillion campus. Browse their website's virtual tours and instrument checklists for photographs, descriptions, and historical information on a wide range of instruments.

Contains Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music. Find extensive encyclopedia articles and bibliographies here!

A collaboration between the Virginia Tech Department of Music and Virginia Tech Learning Technologies. Find audio clips and technical descriptions of instruments here!

The checklists of Plucked String Instruments at The National Music Museum, The University of South Dakota, provide images and details for a variety of instruments--including banjos, guitars, and mandolins.

The National Music Museum, located at The University of South Dakota, provides images and detailed descriptions of a variety of instruments. This particular checklist is of mandolins and variations on the instrument such as lyre-mandolin, mandola, mando-cello, and mando-bass.

The Milwaukee Mandolin Orchestra is the performance branch of the the Bonne Amie Musical Circle, a 501 (c)(3) non-profit organization located in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. The activities of our group are related to music and specifically with two points of focus. Firstly education for members of the Milwaukee Mandolin Orchestra and the public, and secondly we are advocates for the advancement and preservation of the American mandolin orchestra tradition.

A website created and maintained by musicians and collectors whose purpose is to document both in writing and with images the wide variety of mandolin family products produced by the Gibson Corporation through the years.