Music of the Renaissance Era : Instruments
General Reference
- A Dictionary of Early Music: From the Troubadours to Monteverdi (print only)Mills Music Library Reference Collection: ML100 R695 1981
- An Early Music Dictionary: Musical Terms from British Sources, 1500-1740 (print only)Mills Music Library Reference Collection: ML108 S88 1995
- Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance (UW-Licensed)"...includes comprehensive coverage of the art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the period....Nearly half the entries are biographical, covering artists, thinkers, statesman, and reformers. A table of European ruling houses and a table showing the dates when cities and countries changed from the Julian to the Gregorian calendar are also included."
- Oxford Music Online (UW-Licensed)Contains Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music. Extensive encyclopedia articles and bibliographies by expert scholars.
- The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments (print only)Mills Music Library Index Table: ML102 I5 N48 1984
Recordings at Mills Music Library (selected)
- The instruments of the Middle Ages and RenaissanceCall Number: COMP DISC 11926
- The medieval ladyCall Number: COMP DISC 6094
Digital Resources Hosted by Universities and Museums
Search smart with Google:
Do you want only information hosted by University websites? Add "site:.edu" to any keyword!
Sample Google searches:
early musical instruments site:.edu
shawm site:.edu
Sample websites:
- A Guide to Medieval and Renaissance Instruments (free Web)An image and audio gallery authored by the members of Musica Antiqua, an early music ensemble at Iowa State University.
- CWRU Early Instrument Database (free Web)This database authored by Prof. Ross W. Duffin at the Case Western Reserve University contains encyclopedic entries on the history and construction of early instruments. Includes images and audio examples.
- National Music Museum (free Web)The National Music Museum is located on the University of South Dakota-Vermillion campus. Browse their website's virtual tours and instrument checklists for photographs, descriptions, and historical information on a wide range of instruments.
- The Instruments of Early Music (free Web)A page of links curated by Early Music America. Features a number of YouTube links to performances with early instruments.
