Music of the Renaissance Era : Home

General Reference

A Dictionary of Early Music: From the Troubadours to Monteverdi (print only)
Mills Music Library Reference Collection: ML100 R695 1981
An Early Music Dictionary: Musical Terms from British Sources, 1500-1740 (print only)
Mills Music Library Reference Collection: ML108 S88 1995
Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance (UW-Licensed)
"...includes comprehensive coverage of the art, literature, science, culture, philosophy, religion, economics, history, and conflict of the period....Nearly half the entries are biographical, covering artists, thinkers, statesman, and reformers. A table of European ruling houses and a table showing the dates when cities and countries changed from the Julian to the Gregorian calendar are also included."
Oxford Music Online (UW-Licensed)
Contains Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, and The Oxford Dictionary of Music. Extensive encyclopedia articles and bibliographies by expert scholars.
The New Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments (print only)
Mills Music Library Index Table: ML102 I5 N48 1984

About This Guide

This research guide focuses on Western music of the Renaissance era (c. 1400-1650). It includes print, multimedia, and online resources owned by libraries - especially the Mills Music Library - and free on the Web. This research guide is not a comprehensive portal, but it is intended to be a useful place to start.

If you need/want further research help, please contact us at the Mills Music Library (see profile box on the right)! We are always happy to help!

*This guide is still under construction. Please feel free to look around at what information we have so far, but there will be more coming, so stop by again soon!*