Science Education : Lesson Plans

Free resources for teachers including puzzles, games, and lesson plans. Search by resource type, grade level, or subject.

Resources for k-12 math and science teachers. Lesson, standards and professional development. Search by keyword, grade level, or resource type.

Extensive links to additional resources.

Contains a wealth of information for science education. Dedicated to both professional development and classroom activities. Lesson plans and activities organized by grade level, recommended books and links, and a searchable video clip database.

The Web site has information on tours and galleries of minerals and fossils; museum activities for kids, parents, and teachers; and outreach programs. Education section has lesson plans activities.

Stories and related forms of verbal folklore such as rhymes, proverbs, omens, and traditional expressions are an excellent way to approach the science and larger significance of weather.

Sponsored by the National Health Museum. Features news about scientific discoveries, interviews and discussions with scientists, and high school biology classroom activities developed by teachers. Interactive "town halls" allow online discussion.

BioTrek's mission is "Sharing Science With Wisconsin." Its goal is to transform how people view and do science, and to better enable people to use science in making personal choices and public policies. "Resources" section includes teaching tools.

Good information and resources about astronomy, geometry and nature.

All sorts of information relating to chemistry. Also contains links to similar pages for biology, earth science, astronomy, physics, and math.

Four major subject areas explored in-depth. Websites and resources, but no lesson plans.

High school chemistry teachers will find this Web site extremely useful. CLIC collects and organizes Journal of Chemical Education (JCE) resources to fit the special instructional needs of high school teachers.

Students can make use of our extensive library of content, including interactive challenges, assessments, and videos from any computer with access to the web. Coaches, parents, and teachers have unprecedented visibility into what their students are learning and doing on Khan Academy.

Searchable by grade level, all sorts of resources! News, learning, net, multimedia, etc. Use the "For Educators" section.

Lots of resources for science teachers of all grade levels, including books, articles, and a large list of "freebies."

Scan or browse recent science news. "The sources featured in any section of the site have been hand-picked and ranked by the SciCentral editors based on 7 criteria: reliability, timeliness of the information, extent of daily coverage, multidisciplinary coverage, leads to follow up information, presentation and general appeal, and freely accessible content.

Bassam Shakhashiri, a UW–Madison professor in the Department of Chemistry and director of the Wisconsin Initiative for Science Literacy, shows kids and adults that science is fun! He thrills audiences with his sell-out science shows, demonstrations, and videos.

Allows students to "share the excitement of NASA's authentic scientific and engineering pursuits like flying in the Shuttle and the International Space Station, exploring distant planets with amazing spacecraft, and building the aircraft of the future."

Resources and research into a wide variety of education topics, including science.

The Water Library for Kids, maintained by the UW Aquatic Sciences Center, is made up primarily of children's water-related books that have won awards or appeared on lists of best books. Lists of recommended books are organized by topic and age group.