Atmospheric/Oceanic/Climate Research Guide : Articles & Books

The UW-Madison Libraries have licensed many databases for your use. The most-recommended databases for atmospheric and oceanic research are listed below, but as a multidisciplinary field, you may also wish to explore other databases. Once you find specific articles you'd like to read, use the Find It button within the record to locate full-text journal articles.

Web of Science, 1965-

• Broad science database including many AOSS, environmental science, and related topics

Meteorological and Geoastrophysical Abstracts, 1974- 

• Meteorology and climatology
• Physical oceanography, hydrology and glaciology
• Remote sensing, atmospheric chemistry, and physics 

Georef, 1669 (North America)- 1933 (Worldwide)-

• Earth sciences

Oceanic Abstracts, 1981-

• Marine biology, physical oceanography, fisheries
• Aquaculture, meteorology, geology
• Environment, technology and legislative topics

Advanced Technologies Database with Aerospace, 1962-

• Aeronautics and astronautics
• Computer technology and electronics
• Space and atmospheric sciences

Climate Science and Sustainability: Global Origins of Modern Environmentalism, 1957-1995

• Earth sciences, environmentalism, and sustainability during the second half of the 20th century

Google and Google Scholar,

• Search scientific literature with results ranked by relevancy
• Read About Google Scholar for information on content and coverage
• See Google's Advanced Search page to limit searched to link, title, or domain
• For more in-depth information subject-specific databases (listed above) are highly recommended

Environmental Issues Online

• Multimedia database describing environmental concerns of recent centuries

Water Resources Abstracts, 1967-

• Water management summaries and information

Pollution Abstracts, 1981-

• Database indexing articles related to a wide variety of kinds of pollution

Agriculture and Environmental Science Database, 1967-

• Articles and other materials focusing on agriculture and its intersection with the environment

Did you know that many federal agencies fund work in the AOSS field, and that most of them have Public Access requirements? Public Access requirements ask that researchers place copies of articles written as a part of federally-funded work in one or more databases that are open to the public. Currently, many can be "embargoed" (hidden from public view) for up to one year, but that may be changing soon -- stay tuned! Either way, research articles older than one year are often available in one of these federal Public Access repositories.

Department of Energy (DOE) PAGES

• The DOE funds research on alternative energy sources, among other topics

NASA PubSpace

• NASA often funds work on space science, satellites, and other atmosphere topics

NOAA Institutional Repository

• NOAA funds ocean-, climate-, and atmosphere-related science

National Science Foundation (NSF) PAR

• The NSF funds a broad variety of scientific research

U. S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) PubAg

• The USDA often funds scientific research regarding the environment, sustainable farming practices, and drought

U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) Publications Warehouse

• The USGS is often involved in funding work on groundwater, geophysics, and sometimes planetary science

Subjects:

Atmospheric/Oceanic/Climate Studies