Atmospheric/Oceanic/Climate Research Guide : Articles & Books
A guide to selected research tools in the atmospheric and related sciences.
AOSS Library
Databases
-
Web of ScienceCollection of databases indexing scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, from journals, conference proceedings, symposia, and more. Includes citation network data.
-
Meteorological & Geoastrophysical AbstractsJournal articles, conference proceedings, books, and technical reports in the fields of meteorology, climatology, physical oceanography, hydrology, glaciology, and atmospheric chemistry and physics.
-
GeoRef (Geology)Geology database (ProQuest) that covers earth sciences literature. In addition to journal articles, includes conference papers, guidebooks, maps, reports, theses, and selected books.
-
Oceanic AbstractsArticle database covers marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, meteorology and geology, and environmental, technological, and legislative issues and policy.
-
Advanced Technologies & Aerospace CollectionJournals, technical reports, proceedings, government publications in aeronautics, astronautics, computer / information technology, electronics, communications, solid state devices, and space sciences.
-
Climate Science and Sustainability: Global Origins of Modern Environmentalism, 1957-1995Archive of journal articles, government publications, newspapers, and transcribed television and radio broadcasts from around the world on the origins of modern environmentalism from 1957 to 1995.
-
Environmental Issues OnlineCollection of multimedia materials (primary sources, films, text and photographs) supports the study of key environmental challenges and events from the 20th and 21st centuries.
-
Water Resources AbstractsDatabase of summaries of technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources.
-
Pollution AbstractsIndex to journals, conference proceedings, government reports, and books on all forms of pollution, including air, water, waste, radioactive material, toxic emissions, and noise pollution.
-
Agricultural & Environmental ScienceFocused research tool for cross-disciplinary agriculture and environmental sciences research. Discover journals, trade publications, and conference proceedings. Featuring Agricola Index.
-
Google ScholarScholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research from a wide variety of sources. Read About Google Scholar for information on content and coverage. See Google's Advanced Search page to limit searches to link, title, or domain. For more in-depth information subject-specific databases (listed above) are highly recommended.
Federal Public Access Repositories
Did you know that many federal agencies fund work in the AOSS field, and that most of them have Public Access requirements? Public Access requirements ask that researchers place copies of articles written as a part of federally-funded work in one or more databases that are open to the public. Currently, many can be "embargoed" (hidden from public view) for up to one year, but that may be changing soon -- stay tuned! Either way, research articles older than one year are often available in one of these federal Public Access repositories.
Department of Energy (DOE) PAGES
- The DOE funds research on alternative energy sources, among other topics
- NASA often funds work on space science, satellites, and other atmosphere topics
- NOAA funds ocean-, climate-, and atmosphere-related science
National Science Foundation (NSF) PAR
- The NSF funds a broad variety of scientific research
U. S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) PubAg
- The USDA often funds scientific research regarding the environment, sustainable farming practices, and drought
U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) Publications Warehouse
- The USGS is often involved in funding work on groundwater, geophysics, and sometimes planetary science
Accessing Journal Articles
-
Accessing Restricted Electronic ResourcesAccess to UW-Madison libraries resources from off-campus.
-
Accessing Articles from Off-CampusHow to access an article or other resource if you are working or studying from home.
-
Using InterLibrary Loan to Request an ArticleSome articles are not available immediately from UW-Madison -- learn how to request them through InterLibrary Loan (ILL).
AOSS Library
AOSS Library
Contact:
AOSS Library
Room 317
Space Science and Engineering Center
1225 W Dayton St.
Madison, WI 53706
(608) 262-0987
Room 317
Space Science and Engineering Center
1225 W Dayton St.
Madison, WI 53706
(608) 262-0987
Subjects:
Library Catalog
-
Library CatalogSearch for books, reports, conferences
-
Library Research TutorialsLearn to find, access, and manage information
-
Library InstructionRequest a library workshop for your research group or class.
-
Ask a LibrarianContact the AOSS Library.