Social Science Data : International Data and Organizations

A large collection of statistics about Canada and its people.

DANS's activities are centred around 3 core services: data archiving, data reusing and training & consultancy. Sharing and reusing research data promotes science. Datasets collected for a certain research purpose can also contain answers to research questions from very different research in the same or in another research discipline.

"A collection of online databases containing more than 1 million time-series records covering international agricultural statistics for 210 countries."

"The World Bank's Gender Data Portal makes the latest gender statistics accessible through compelling narratives and data visualizations to improve the understanding of gender data and facilitate analyses that inform policy choices."

Formerly WHOSIS (World Health Organization Statistical Information System) "The GHO is WHO's portal providing access to data and analyses for monitoring the global health situation. It provides critical data and analyses for key health themes, as well as direct access to the full database. The GHO presents data from all WHO programs and provides links to supporting information."

Holds survey data from developing countries on a variety of topics.

International labor statistics from the International Labor Organization.

"The International Financial Statistics database covers about 200 countries and areas, with some aggregates calculated for selected regions, plus some world totals. Topics covered include balance of payme commodity prices, exchange rates, fund position, government finance, industrial production, interest rates, international investment position, international liquidity, international transactions, labor statistics, money and banking, national accounts, population, prices, and real effective exchange rates."

"The International Monetary Fund's (IMF) eLibrary simplifies analysis and research with direct access to the IMF’s periodicals, books, working papers and studies, and data and statistical tools. You will find information and perspective on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice, poverty reduction, and so much more."

"IPUMS provides census and survey data from around the world integrated across time and space. IPUMS integration and documentation makes it easy to study change, conduct comparative research, merge information across data types, and analyze individuals within family and community contexts. Data and services available free of charge."

"LIS acquires datasets with income, wealth, employment, and demographic data from many high- and middle-income countries, harmonises them to enable cross-national comparisons, and makes them publicly available in two databases, the Luxembourg Income Study Database (LIS) and the Luxembourg Wealth Study Database (LWS)."

"The World Bank Living Standards Measurement Study (LSMS) is a household survey program working to strengthen the availability, quality, relevance, and timeliness of household surveys implemented in low- and middle-income countries."

"Informs people around the world about population, health, and the environment, and empowers them to use that information to advance the well-being of current and future generations. Data is focused around four "core themes": Reproductive Health and Fertility; Children and Families; Population and the Environment; and Population Futures—Aging, Inequality and Poverty, Migration and Urbanization, and Gender."

"A web-based data service for the global user community. It brings international statistical databases within easy reach of users through a single-entry point. Users can search and download a variety of statistical resources compiled by the United Nations (UN) statistical system and other international agencies."

"The United Nations Statistics Division collects, compiles and disseminates official national statistics on births, deaths and life expectancy through the Demographic Yearbook data collection system."

"The World Bank Group provides free online access to its comprehensive set of data on living standards around the globe--some 2,000 indicators, including hundreds that go back 50 years."

"The World Values Survey (WVS) is an international research program devoted to the scientific and academic study of social, political, economic, religious and cultural values of people in the world. The project’s goal is to assess which impact values stability or change over time has on the social, political and economic development of countries and societies."