Social Science Data : Other Sources

"The ACLED Conflict Index calculates where conflicts in every country and territory in the world vary according to four indicators – deadliness, danger to civilians, geographic diffusion, and the number of armed groups."

"To serve the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, policy makers and journalists, the ANES produces high quality data from its own surveys on voting, public opinion, and political participation."

"Data Commons brings together the world's public data, harmonized for your exploration"

"The National Survey of Children’s Health (NSCH) provides rich data on multiple, intersecting aspects of children’s lives—including physical and mental health, access to and quality of health care, and the child’s family, neighborhood, school, and social context. The DRC advances the use of the National Survey of Children's Health."

"Data USA puts public US Government data in your hands. Instead of searching through multiple data sources that are often incomplete and difficult to access, our platform provides an open, easy-to-use platform that turns data into knowledge."

"Dryad is an open data publishing platform and a community committed to the open availability and routine re-use of all research data."

"The Gateway to Global Aging Data is a data and information platform developed to facilitate longitudinal and cross-country analyses on aging, especially those using the family of Health and Retirement Studies (HRS) around the world. The Gateway indexes and extensively documents study designs and survey questionnaires. So far, the Gateway has catalogued surveys from 18 studies in 45 countries from 1992 to 2020. Additionally, for many of these surveys, the Gateway also creates and releases Harmonized datafiles which are comprised of variables representing a subset of the original survey data and have been defined to be as comparable as possible across different studies."

"Powered by The Dataverse Project, the repository was released in 2006 by the Institute for Quantitative Social Science (IQSS) at Harvard University and is one of the largest repositories of open research data in the world, hosting thousands of datasets across a wide range of disciplines."

"The University of Michigan Health and Retirement Study (HRS) is a longitudinal panel study that surveys a representative sample of approximately 20,000 people in America. Through its unique and in-depth interviews, the HRS provides an invaluable and growing body of multidisciplinary data that researchers can use to address important questions about the challenges and opportunities of aging."

"Your search assistant
in Humanities and Social Sciences"

"The NSFH was designed to provide a broad range of information on family life to serve as a resource for research across disciplinary perspectives. A considerable amount of life-history information was collected, including: the respondent's family living arrangements in childhood, departures and returns to the parental home, and histories of marriage, cohabitation, education, fertility, and employment."

"Publicly accessible data sources that include arts-related variables"

"A list of repositories and databases for open data."

"To make progress against the pressing problems the world faces, we need to be informed by the best research and data. Our World in Data makes this knowledge accessible and understandable, to empower those working to build a better world."

"Data and mapping tool for creating custom reports of data related to demographics, real estate, health, jobs, the environment, education and more."

"Polity is the most closely scrutinized data series on political issues"

"The Qualitative Data Repository (QDR) is a dedicated archive for storing and sharing digital data (and accompanying documentation) generated or collected through qualitative and multi-method research in the social sciences and related disciplines."

"Re3data is a global registry of research data repositories that covers research data repositories from different academic disciplines. It includes repositories that enable permanent storage of and access to data sets to researchers, funding bodies, publishers, and scholarly institutions."

"A resource for anthropologists and any other researchers interested in culture, history, language, and human life in general. It represents a wide-ranging list of fieldnotes, ethnographic source materials, and data in countless digital and physical archives, produced by scores of anthropologists over the last century."

A collection of large network datasets including social networks, citation networks, web graphs, online communities, and more.

"V-Dem provides a multidimensional and disaggregated dataset that reflects the complexity of the concept of democracy as a system of rule that goes beyond the simple presence of elections. We distinguish between five high-level principles of democracy: electoral, liberal, participatory, deliberative, and egalitarian, and collect data to measure these principles."