Social Science Data : Federal Agencies

A coordinated effort among a group of data organizations, including IASSIST, RDAP, and members of the Data Curation Network. Our goal is to serve as a clearinghouse for data rescue-related efforts and data access points for public US governmental data that are currently at risk.

"The Behavioral Risk Factor Surveillance System (BRFSS) is the nation’s premier system of health-related telephone surveys that collect state data about U.S. residents regarding their health-related risk behaviors, chronic health conditions, and use of preventive services."

"This comprehensive collection of ATF-related data from national surveys, state-based surveys, other collected license statistics, and other data sources documents trends in firearms, commerce and use of federal services in the United States."

State-level health statistics from the CDC's National Center for Health Statistics.

This source includes indepth analyses of countries prepared by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress under the Country Studies/Area Handbook Program

The United States Government's open data site.

Funding, participation, and performance data from elementary and secondary schools in the U.S.

"The FBI's Crime Data Explorer (CDE) aims to provide transparency, create easier access, and expand awareness of criminal, and noncriminal, law enforcement data sharing; improve accountability for law enforcement; and provide a foundation to help shape public policy in support of a safer nation. Use the CDE to discover data through visualizations, downloads in .csv format, and other large data files."

"FRED is an online database consisting of hundreds of thousands of economic data time series from scores of national, international, public, and private sources."

"The GSS is a publicly available national resource, and is one of the most frequently analyzed sources of information in the social sciences. GSS Data Explorer was designed to make the GSS more accessible and provide the tools necessary to transform data into useful knowledge."

"The Millennial Edition is the definitive source of statistics and data about the United States and is a key resource for American history research from Colonial times to the present."

"The iPOLL Databank at the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research is a full-text, question-level retrieval system for United States public opinion back to 1935."

"The National Assessment of Educational Progress (NAEP), first administered in 1969, is the largest continuing and nationally representative assessment of what our nation’s students know and can do in subjects such as mathematics, reading, science, and writing. Standard administration practices are implemented to provide a common measure of student achievement."

"The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education."

"CDC's National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) is the nation's principal health statistics agency."

"The National Historical Geographic Information System (NHGIS) provides easy access to summary tables and time series of population, housing, agriculture, and economic data, along with GIS-compatible mapping files, for years from 1790 through the present and for all levels of U.S. census geography, including states, counties, tracts, and blocks."

"NIH has a longstanding commitment to making the results of NIH-funded research available. Responsible data management and sharing has many benefits, including accelerating the pace of biomedical research, enabling validation of research results, and providing accessibility to high-value datasets."

"OHSS was established to perform independent statistical reporting for the Department of Homeland Security (DHS). OHSS makes objective, credible, accurate, relevant, and timely federal homeland security statistics available to the public, our interagency partners, and Congress - anyone interested in obtaining quality evidence related to DHS’s vital mission."

The United States' primary source for criminal justice statistics. BJS mission: To collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. These data are critical to federal, state, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded.

"The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) is an agency of the United States Department of Labor. It is the principal fact-finding agency in the broad field of labor economics and statistics and serves as part of the U.S. Federal Statistical System. BLS collects, calculates, analyzes, and publishes data essential to the public, employers, researchers, and government organizations"
BLS Glossary: https://www.bls.gov/bls/glossary.htm

"The National Longitudinal Surveys (NLS) are a set of surveys designed to gather information at multiple points in time on the labor market activities and other significant life events of several groups of men and women."

A database available from the US Census Bureau.

"The Office of Minority Health provides the most current quantitative information related to minority health. This includes sourcing and maintaining a body of expert knowledge on minority health status initiatives, and demographic statistics and analyses on minority populations, compiled by the National Center for Health Statistics, the Census Bureau, private foundations, clinical practitioners, private data sources and public agencies."

"Explore data on labor force outcomes & characteristics such as geography, gender, race, ethnicity, educational attainment, family status & veteran status."

"The mission of the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) is to enforce the controlled substances laws and regulations of the United States and bring to the criminal and civil justice system of the United States, or any other competent jurisdiction, those organizations and principal members of organizations, involved in the growing, manufacture, or distribution of controlled substances appearing in or destined for illicit traffic in the United States; and to recommend and support non-enforcement programs aimed at reducing the availability of illicit controlled substances on the domestic and international markets."

"Our programs produce accurate geologic maps and 3-D geologic frameworks that provide critical data for sustaining and improving the quality of life and economic vitality of the Nation. They also organize, maintain, and publish the geospatial baseline of the Nation's topography, natural landscape, built environment and more."

"Contains overviews of each country in the world, including brief data on geography, people, government, economy, membership in international organizations, communications, and defense forces. Maps and flags may be viewed in various formats."