Casebooks, Nutshells, and Study Materials
Election Law In A Nutshell by
Election law is a dynamic and rapidly expanding field that generates enormous public interest. It is also of great practical importance to lawyers and law students, with increasing litigation and many controversial Supreme Court decisions, including Bush v. Gore, Citizens United v. FEC, and Shelby County v. Holder. This Nutshell provides a succinct and thorough description of the law governing elections, the right to vote, and the political process in the United States. The topics addressed include "one person, one vote," gerrymandering, minority voting rights, ballot access, voter identification, recounts, direct democracy, and campaign finance. The Nutshell examines U.S. constitutional law in these areas, as well as the Voting Rights Act, Federal Election Campaign Act, and other essential statutes. It covers cases decided through the 2022-23 Supreme Court term, including Allen v. Milligan (on the Voting Rights Act) and Moore v. Harper (on the independent state legislature theory).
Call Number: KF4886 .T65 2024 (Reserve Collection behind Circulation Desk)ISBN: 1647082501Publication Date: 2024-03-26
Examples and Explanations for Legislation, Statutory Interpretation, and Election Law by
Examples & Explanations for Legislation, Statutory Interpretation, and Election Law, Second Edition is an up-to-date, user-friendly, and clear student-oriented treatise tackling the complex subjects in this field, including statutory interpretation, lobbying, bribery, redistricting, campaign finance law, and voting rights. The Second Edition is suitable for use with courses in Legislation and Regulation, Statutory Interpretation, Election Law, Voting Rights, and Campaign Finance. Written by Richard L. Hasen, one of the leading voices in the field of election law and legislation, no other statutory supplement is as comprehensive, up to date, and full of examples (and answers) to test student knowledge as Examples & Explanations for Legislation, Statutory Interpretation, and Election Law, Second Edition. New to the 2nd Edition: Coverage through the Supreme Court's June 2019 decisions, including partisan gerrymandering, court deference to agency interpretations, and the litigation over a citizenship question on the 2020 census Updated discussion of textualist methods of statutory interpretation following the death of Justice Scalia and the arrival of Justices Gorsuch and Kavanaugh Consideration of how increased political polarization shapes the legislative process and judicial review of legislation Updated material on campaign finance and voting rights Professors and students will benefit from: Straightforward presentation of often complex statutory and constitutional questions Examples based upon real cases and easy-to-understand explanations The book's suitability to a variety of courses including: Legislation, Statutory Interpretation, Legislation Regulation, Election Law, Voting Rights, and Campaign Finance
Call Number: Reserve Collection (Circulation Desk) KF4930 .H37 2020ISBN: 9781543805888Publication Date: 2020
Principles of Constitutional Structure by
This book offers an overview of federalism, the separation of powers, and related matters of constitutional structure. It covers such topics as: the lawmaking powers of the national government (including those powers conferred by the Commerce Clause, the Taxing and Spending Clause, the Necessary and Proper Clause, the Enforcement Clauses of the Reconstruction Amendments, and other sources of federal legislative authority); federalism-based "external" constraints on congressional power (including those provided by the anti-commandeering principle, the "equal sovereignty" principle, and principles of state-sovereign immunity); federalism-based limits on state authority (including those imposed by the dormant Commerce Clause, the Article IV Privileges and Immunities Clause, and statutory preemption doctrine); structural constitutional principles concerning governmental entities other than the states (including Native nations, overseas territories, and the District of Columbia); and the horizontal allocation of power across the three branches of the federal government (including with respect to foreign and military affairs, the federal administrative state, the appointment and removal of executive-branch officials, impeachment, presidential and legislative immunities from judicial process, and the powers of the federal courts).
Call Number: Reserve Collection (Circulation Desk) KF4606 .C643 2022Publication Date: 2022-08-01- Principles of the law, election administration, non-precinct voting and resolution of ballot-counting disputes by Principles of non-precinct voting: early in-person voting and open absentee voting -- Principles for the resolution of ballot-counting disputes -- Procedures for the resolution of a disputed presidential electionCall Number: Reserve Collection (Circulation Desk) KF4886 .P7522 2019Publication Date: 2019
Understanding Election Law and Voting Rights by
Understanding Election Law and Voting Rights is an excellent supplement to any casebook in election law and a concise but thorough treatise. It is designed to provide students in law, political science, and other fields with a coherent, detailed, and accessible introduction to (or review of) election law. As a study aid, the text helps students synthesize and apply doctrine to typical problems and situations faced by practicing attorneys and policymakers. As a treatise, this book also assists scholars and practicing lawyers in understanding the complex statutes and cases that comprise "election law."
Call Number: KF4886 .D557 2017 (Reserve Collection behind Circulation Desk)ISBN: 0769856152Publication Date: 2016-10-01
