General Books on Election Law
The Election Law Primer for Corporations by
This book covers the fast-changing landscape of campaign finance and lobbying laws. The sixth edition offers an introduction and a summary of the basic principles. Numerous court decisions and new laws dramatically altered the ways in which groups, including corporations, could lawfully finance political activity outside of the political parties and the candidates. Independent advertisers and super political action committees (PACs) have new roles and new rules since the last edition (2006). Contribution limits have changed and aggregate limits on individuals have been eliminated. In addition, the Lobbying Disclosure Act, as well as new congressional ethics rules, have increased compliance burdens for persons engaged in lobbying and government relations.
Call Number: KF4886 .B37 2015ISBN: 9781634252850Publication Date: 2016-08-07
Understanding Election Law and Voting Rights by
Understanding Election Law and Voting Rights is an excellent supplement to any casebook in election law and a concise but thorough treatise. It is designed to provide students in law, political science, and other fields with a coherent, detailed, and accessible introduction to (or review of) election law. As a study aid, the text helps students synthesize and apply doctrine to typical problems and situations faced by practicing attorneys and policymakers. As a treatise, this book also assists scholars and practicing lawyers in understanding the complex statutes and cases that comprise "election law."
Call Number: KF4886 .D557 2017 (Reserve Collection behind Circulation Desk)ISBN: 0769856152Publication Date: 2016-10-01
Election Law and Litigation by
This casebook offers a student-friendly, practical approach with carefully-designed pedagogical features. Its streamlined approach tracks the chronological order of an election, with significant focus on election administration. Features: Tightly-edited cases Useful notes that help serve as classroom discussion tools Up-to-date with the most recent Supreme Court and lower court decisions, including Shelby County (invalidating part of the Voting Rights Act) and lower court litigation involving the 2012 election
Call Number: KF4886 .F65 2014ISBN: 9780735569997Publication Date: 2014-04-11
Election Law: Cases and Materials by
The new material includes coverage of the Supreme Court's most recent cases on the Voting Rights Act and vote denial (Brnovich), donor disclosure and the First Amendment (AFPF v. Bonta), campaign contributions (Thompson v. Hebdon), bribery (Kelly v. United States), and the Electoral College (Chiafalo v. Washington); discussion of controversies and litigation surrounding the 2020 election, and COVID-19-related election litigation and election administration changes; and a completely rewritten section on partisan gerrymandering, including an edited version of the Supreme Court's June 2019 decision in Rucho v. Common Cause.
Call Number: KF4886 .L69 2017ISBN: 9781531004729Publication Date: 2017-07-01
Election Law In A Nutshell by
Election law is a dynamic and rapidly expanding field that generates enormous public interest. It is also of great practical importance to lawyers and law students, with increasing litigation and many controversial Supreme Court decisions, including Bush v. Gore, Citizens United v. FEC, and Shelby County v. Holder. This Nutshell provides a succinct and thorough description of the law governing elections, the right to vote, and the political process in the United States. The topics addressed include "one person, one vote," gerrymandering, minority voting rights, ballot access, voter identification, recounts, direct democracy, and campaign finance. The Nutshell examines U.S. constitutional law in these areas, as well as the Voting Rights Act, Federal Election Campaign Act, and other essential statutes. It covers cases decided through the 2022-23 Supreme Court term, including Allen v. Milligan (on the Voting Rights Act) and Moore v. Harper (on the independent state legislature theory).
Call Number: KF4886 .T65 2024 (Reserve Collection behind Circulation Desk)ISBN: 1647082501Publication Date: 2024-03-26
Election Law Stories by
One of the most dynamic fields in the legal academy now has its own Stories book. This title offers a rich and detailed account of the most significant cases in election law, including the landmark decisions of Reynolds v. Sims, Bush v. Gore, Citizens United v. Federal Election Commission, and Shelby County v. Holder. The book relies on a unique encapsulated approach to storytelling, as each of its authors surveys an important doctrinal area in the field through the telling of his or her story. The volume's thirteen cases concern the right to vote, redistricting and gerrymandering, campaign finance, and election administration. The book is suited for courses in the law of democracy at both the graduate and undergraduate levels.
Call Number: KF4886.A5 E38 2016ISBN: 9781634604338Publication Date: 2016-04-08
Legislation, Statutory Interpretation, and Election Law: Examples and Explanations by
Examples & Explanations for Legislation, Statutory Interpretation, and Election Law, Second Edition is an up-to-date, user-friendly, and clear student-oriented treatise tackling the complex subjects in this field, including statutory interpretation, lobbying, bribery, redistricting, campaign finance law, and voting rights.
Call Number: KF4930 .H37 2020 (Reserve Collection behind Circulation Desk)ISBN: 9781543805888Publication Date: 2014-07-07
The Law of Presidential Impeachment by
A clear and comprehensive overview of presidential impeachment from a leading expert in the field As a result of Donald Trump's presidency, impeachment was once again thrust into the spotlight of American political discussion. However, its history goes back to the very founding of the nation, when American colonists, remembering their grievances against their former king, entrenched the process in their new Constitution. The Law of Presidential Impeachment breaks down both the law and politics of this process, providing a comprehensive, nonpartisan, and up-to-date explanation of the Constitution's various mechanisms for holding presidents accountable for their misdeeds. Based on a lifetime of scholarly research, as well as unique experience as a witness and consultant in the impeachment trials of Bill Clinton and Donald Trump, Michael J. Gerhardt's new book takes the reader back to the basics of presidential impeachments. Rather than provide reasons for or against impeaching particular presidents, he explains the law and procedures that govern impeachment, examining a number of significant, yet under-explored, issues and themes. Gerhardt offers new perspectives on the subject, arguing that it cannot be properly understood in a vacuum, but must instead be viewed in the context of its coordination with such other mechanisms as criminal prosecutions, censure, elections, congressional oversight, and the Fourteenth and Twenty-Fifth Amendments. The Law of Presidential Impeachment will be an invaluable, accessible guide for future generations, giving them a succinct yet remarkably nuanced understanding of this core aspect of our executive branch and overarching governmental system.
Call Number: KF5075 .G473 2024 (New Book Shelf, 5th Floor)ISBN: 9781479824694Publication Date: 2024-01-09
