Casebooks, Nutshells, and Study Materials
Election Law In A Nutshell by
Election law is a dynamic and rapidly expanding field that generates enormous public interest. It is also of great practical importance to lawyers and law students, with increasing litigation and many controversial Supreme Court decisions, including Bush v. Gore, Citizens United v. FEC, and Shelby County v. Holder. This Nutshell provides a succinct and thorough description of the law governing elections, the right to vote, and the political process in the United States. The topics addressed include "one person, one vote," gerrymandering, minority voting rights, ballot access, voter identification, recounts, direct democracy, and campaign finance. The Nutshell examines U.S. constitutional law in these areas, as well as the Voting Rights Act, Federal Election Campaign Act, and other essential statutes. It covers cases decided through the 2022-23 Supreme Court term, including Allen v. Milligan (on the Voting Rights Act) and Moore v. Harper (on the independent state legislature theory).
Call Number: KF4886 .T65 2024 (Reserve Collection behind Circulation Desk)ISBN: 1647082501Publication Date: 2024-03-26
Examples and Explanations for Legislation, Statutory Interpretation, and Election Law by
Examples & Explanations for Legislation, Statutory Interpretation, and Election Law, Second Edition is an up-to-date, user-friendly, and clear student-oriented treatise tackling the complex subjects in this field, including statutory interpretation, lobbying, bribery, redistricting, campaign finance law, and voting rights. The Second Edition is suitable for use with courses in Legislation and Regulation, Statutory Interpretation, Election Law, Voting Rights, and Campaign Finance. Written by Richard L. Hasen, one of the leading voices in the field of election law and legislation, no other statutory supplement is as comprehensive, up to date, and full of examples (and answers) to test student knowledge as Examples & Explanations for Legislation, Statutory Interpretation, and Election Law, Second Edition. New to the 2nd Edition: Coverage through the Supreme Court's June 2019 decisions, including partisan gerrymandering, court deference to agency interpretations, and the litigation over a citizenship question on the 2020 census Updated discussion of textualist methods of statutory interpretation following the death of Justice Scalia and the arrival of Justices Gorsuch and Kavanaugh Consideration of how increased political polarization shapes the legislative process and judicial review of legislation Updated material on campaign finance and voting rights Professors and students will benefit from: Straightforward presentation of often complex statutory and constitutional questions Examples based upon real cases and easy-to-understand explanations The book's suitability to a variety of courses including: Legislation, Statutory Interpretation, Legislation Regulation, Election Law, Voting Rights, and Campaign Finance
Call Number: Reserve Collection (Circulation Desk) KF4930 .H37 2020ISBN: 9781543805888Publication Date: 2020
Principles of Constitutional Structure by
This book offers an overview of federalism, the separation of powers, and related matters of constitutional structure. It covers such topics as: the lawmaking powers of the national government (including those powers conferred by the Commerce Clause, the Taxing and Spending Clause, the Necessary and Proper Clause, the Enforcement Clauses of the Reconstruction Amendments, and other sources of federal legislative authority); federalism-based "external" constraints on congressional power (including those provided by the anti-commandeering principle, the "equal sovereignty" principle, and principles of state-sovereign immunity); federalism-based limits on state authority (including those imposed by the dormant Commerce Clause, the Article IV Privileges and Immunities Clause, and statutory preemption doctrine); structural constitutional principles concerning governmental entities other than the states (including Native nations, overseas territories, and the District of Columbia); and the horizontal allocation of power across the three branches of the federal government (including with respect to foreign and military affairs, the federal administrative state, the appointment and removal of executive-branch officials, impeachment, presidential and legislative immunities from judicial process, and the powers of the federal courts).
Call Number: Reserve Collection (Circulation Desk) KF4606 .C643 2022Publication Date: 2022-08-01- Principles of the law, election administration, non-precinct voting and resolution of ballot-counting disputes by Principles of non-precinct voting: early in-person voting and open absentee voting -- Principles for the resolution of ballot-counting disputes -- Procedures for the resolution of a disputed presidential electionCall Number: Reserve Collection (Circulation Desk) KF4886 .P7522 2019Publication Date: 2019
Understanding Election Law and Voting Rights by
Understanding Election Law and Voting Rights is an excellent supplement to any casebook in election law and a concise but thorough treatise. It is designed to provide students in law, political science, and other fields with a coherent, detailed, and accessible introduction to (or review of) election law. As a study aid, the text helps students synthesize and apply doctrine to typical problems and situations faced by practicing attorneys and policymakers. As a treatise, this book also assists scholars and practicing lawyers in understanding the complex statutes and cases that comprise "election law."
Call Number: KF4886 .D557 2017 (Reserve Collection behind Circulation Desk)ISBN: 0769856152Publication Date: 2016-10-01
General Books on Election Law
The Election Law Primer for Corporations by
This book covers the fast-changing landscape of campaign finance and lobbying laws. The sixth edition offers an introduction and a summary of the basic principles. Numerous court decisions and new laws dramatically altered the ways in which groups, including corporations, could lawfully finance political activity outside of the political parties and the candidates. Independent advertisers and super political action committees (PACs) have new roles and new rules since the last edition (2006). Contribution limits have changed and aggregate limits on individuals have been eliminated. In addition, the Lobbying Disclosure Act, as well as new congressional ethics rules, have increased compliance burdens for persons engaged in lobbying and government relations.
Call Number: KF4886 .B37 2015ISBN: 9781634252850Publication Date: 2016-08-07- Understanding Election Law and Voting Rights by
Understanding Election Law and Voting Rights is an excellent supplement to any casebook in election law and a concise but thorough treatise. It is designed to provide students in law, political science, and other fields with a coherent, detailed, and accessible introduction to (or review of) election law. As a study aid, the text helps students synthesize and apply doctrine to typical problems and situations faced by practicing attorneys and policymakers. As a treatise, this book also assists scholars and practicing lawyers in understanding the complex statutes and cases that comprise "election law."
Call Number: KF4886 .D557 2017 (Reserve Collection behind Circulation Desk)ISBN: 0769856152Publication Date: 2016-10-01
Election Law and Litigation by
This casebook offers a student-friendly, practical approach with carefully-designed pedagogical features. Its streamlined approach tracks the chronological order of an election, with significant focus on election administration. Features: Tightly-edited cases Useful notes that help serve as classroom discussion tools Up-to-date with the most recent Supreme Court and lower court decisions, including Shelby County (invalidating part of the Voting Rights Act) and lower court litigation involving the 2012 election
Call Number: KF4886 .F65 2014ISBN: 9780735569997Publication Date: 2014-04-11
Election Law: Cases and Materials by
The new material includes coverage of the Supreme Court's most recent cases on the Voting Rights Act and vote denial (Brnovich), donor disclosure and the First Amendment (AFPF v. Bonta), campaign contributions (Thompson v. Hebdon), bribery (Kelly v. United States), and the Electoral College (Chiafalo v. Washington); discussion of controversies and litigation surrounding the 2020 election, and COVID-19-related election litigation and election administration changes; and a completely rewritten section on partisan gerrymandering, including an edited version of the Supreme Court's June 2019 decision in Rucho v. Common Cause.
Call Number: KF4886 .L69 2017ISBN: 9781531004729Publication Date: 2017-07-01- Election Law In A Nutshell by
Election law is a dynamic and rapidly expanding field that generates enormous public interest. It is also of great practical importance to lawyers and law students, with increasing litigation and many controversial Supreme Court decisions, including Bush v. Gore, Citizens United v. FEC, and Shelby County v. Holder. This Nutshell provides a succinct and thorough description of the law governing elections, the right to vote, and the political process in the United States. The topics addressed include "one person, one vote," gerrymandering, minority voting rights, ballot access, voter identification, recounts, direct democracy, and campaign finance. The Nutshell examines U.S. constitutional law in these areas, as well as the Voting Rights Act, Federal Election Campaign Act, and other essential statutes. It covers cases decided through the 2022-23 Supreme Court term, including Allen v. Milligan (on the Voting Rights Act) and Moore v. Harper (on the independent state legislature theory).
Call Number: KF4886 .T65 2024 (Reserve Collection behind Circulation Desk)ISBN: 1647082501Publication Date: 2024-03-26
Election Law Stories by
One of the most dynamic fields in the legal academy now has its own Stories book. This title offers a rich and detailed account of the most significant cases in election law, including the landmark decisions of Reynolds v. Sims, Bush v. Gore, Citizens United v. Federal Election Commission, and Shelby County v. Holder. The book relies on a unique encapsulated approach to storytelling, as each of its authors surveys an important doctrinal area in the field through the telling of his or her story. The volume's thirteen cases concern the right to vote, redistricting and gerrymandering, campaign finance, and election administration. The book is suited for courses in the law of democracy at both the graduate and undergraduate levels.
Call Number: KF4886.A5 E38 2016ISBN: 9781634604338Publication Date: 2016-04-08- Legislation, Statutory Interpretation, and Election Law: Examples and Explanations by
Examples & Explanations for Legislation, Statutory Interpretation, and Election Law, Second Edition is an up-to-date, user-friendly, and clear student-oriented treatise tackling the complex subjects in this field, including statutory interpretation, lobbying, bribery, redistricting, campaign finance law, and voting rights.
Call Number: KF4930 .H37 2020 (Reserve Collection behind Circulation Desk)ISBN: 9781543805888Publication Date: 2014-07-07
The Law of Presidential Impeachment by
A clear and comprehensive overview of presidential impeachment from a leading expert in the field As a result of Donald Trump's presidency, impeachment was once again thrust into the spotlight of American political discussion. However, its history goes back to the very founding of the nation, when American colonists, remembering their grievances against their former king, entrenched the process in their new Constitution. The Law of Presidential Impeachment breaks down both the law and politics of this process, providing a comprehensive, nonpartisan, and up-to-date explanation of the Constitution's various mechanisms for holding presidents accountable for their misdeeds. Based on a lifetime of scholarly research, as well as unique experience as a witness and consultant in the impeachment trials of Bill Clinton and Donald Trump, Michael J. Gerhardt's new book takes the reader back to the basics of presidential impeachments. Rather than provide reasons for or against impeaching particular presidents, he explains the law and procedures that govern impeachment, examining a number of significant, yet under-explored, issues and themes. Gerhardt offers new perspectives on the subject, arguing that it cannot be properly understood in a vacuum, but must instead be viewed in the context of its coordination with such other mechanisms as criminal prosecutions, censure, elections, congressional oversight, and the Fourteenth and Twenty-Fifth Amendments. The Law of Presidential Impeachment will be an invaluable, accessible guide for future generations, giving them a succinct yet remarkably nuanced understanding of this core aspect of our executive branch and overarching governmental system.
Call Number: KF5075 .G473 2024 (New Book Shelf, 5th Floor)ISBN: 9781479824694Publication Date: 2024-01-09
Voting Rights
Much Sound and Fury, or the New Jim Crow? by
Since 2003, several US states have passed new laws that complicate the process of voter registration and voting. Framed as controls on voter fraud, the laws have spawned controversy in both the courts and public opinion, the latter falling along a sharp partisan divide. Much Sound and Fury, or the New Jim Crow? offers a scholarly analysis, not of the intent but rather the impact of these laws. Beginning with a historical overview of the expanding and contracting right to vote, particularly regarding its impact on African Americans, subsequent chapters use quantitative analysis to analyze the impact of identification requirement laws, proof-of-citizenship requirements, felony disenfranchisement, and gerrymandering. Before 2020, the impact of the laws leaned slightly negative but was mixed. More recent developments, however, point to a far more alarming implication--widespread belief in factually-baseless allegations of fraud, which undermines Americans' trust and faith in our constitutional democracy; these allegations reached a crescendo in 2021 as a violent mob seized the US Capitol. The book concludes with an afterword on the 2020 elections and their aftermath.
Call Number: F4893 .M83 2022ISBN: 9781438486833Publication Date: 2022-01-01
E-Voting Case Law by
E-voting is the use of electronic means in the casting of the vote at political elections or referendums. This book provides an overview of e-voting related case-law worldwide and explains how judicial decisions impact e-voting development. With contributions by renowned experts on thirteen countries, the authors discuss e-voting both from controlled environments, such as voting machines in polling stations, and uncontrolled ones, including internet voting. Each chapter examines a group of country-specific leading judicial decisions on e-voting and their likely impact on its future development. Reference is made to emerging standards on e-voting such as the Recommendation Rec(2004)11 of the Council of Europe, the only international instrument on e-voting regulation, and to other countries' case-law. The work provides a broader, informative and easily accessible perspective on the historical, political and legal aspects of an otherwise very technical subject, and contributes to a better understanding of the significance of case law and its impact in shaping e-voting's future development. The book will be significantly useful to anyone with an interest in e-voting, in particular decision makers and officials, researchers and academia, as well as NGOs and providers of e-voting solutions.
Call Number: K3293 .E17 2015ISBN: 1472446755Publication Date: 2015-09-03
America Votes!: Challenges to Modern Election Law and Voting Rights by
This book is a must-read for anyone concerned about our political future. America Votes, Fourth Edition addresses important electoral issues, including: - Voter qualifications, registration, immigration and citizenship, language minority participation, and Native American voting;- The voting process, early voting, same day registration, cybersecurity threats, campaign finance pitfalls, and Maine's experiment with ranked-choice voting;- Voting rights litigation, section 2 of the Voting Rights Act, criminal enforcement, the impact of Shelby County and legislation to reform the voting process;- Recounts and audits and the legacy of Gore v. Bush; and- Redistricting equal protection and fair districts math and partisan gerrymandering.
Call Number: KF4886 .A86 2020ISBN: 9781641055543Publication Date: 2020-09-01
Uncounted: The Crisis of Voter Suppression in America by
An answer to the assault on voting rights--crucial reading in light of the 2024 presidential election The Voting Rights Act of 1965 is considered one of the most effective pieces of legislation the United States has ever passed. It enfranchised hundreds of thousands of voters, particularly in the American South, and drew attention to the problem of voter suppression. Yet in recent years there has been a continuous assault on access to the ballot box in the form of stricter voter ID requirements, meritless claims of rigged elections, and baseless accusations of voter fraud. In the past these efforts were aimed at eliminating African American voters from the rolls, and today, new laws seek to eliminate voters of color, the poor, and the elderly, groups that historically vote for the Democratic Party. Uncounted examines the phenomenon of disenfranchisement through the lens of history, race, law, and the democratic process. Gilda R. Daniels, who served as Deputy Chief in the United States Department of Justice Civil Rights Division and has more than two decades of voting rights experience, argues that voter suppression works in cycles, constantly adapting and finding new ways to hinder access for an exponentially growing minority population. She warns that a premeditated strategy of restrictive laws and deceptive practices has taken root and is eroding the very basis of American democracy--the right to vote!
Call Number: KF4891 .D36 2020ISBN: 1479862355Publication Date: 2020-01-28
Bending Toward Justice: The Voting Rights Act and the Transformation of American Democracy by
When the Fifteenth Amendment of 1870 granted African Americans the right to vote, it seemed as if a new era of political equality was at hand. Before long, however, white segregationists across the South counterattacked, driving their black countrymen from the polls through a combination of sheer terror and insidious devices such as complex literacy tests and expensive poll taxes. Most African Americans would remain voiceless for nearly a century more, citizens in name only until the passage of the 1965 Voting Rights Act secured their access to the ballot. In Bending Toward Justice, celebrated historian Gary May describes how black voters overcame centuries of bigotry to secure and preserve one of their most important rights as American citizens. The struggle that culminated in the passage of the Voting Rights Act was long and torturous, and only succeeded because of the courageous work of local freedom fighters and national civil rights leaders -- as well as, ironically, the opposition of Southern segregationists and law enforcement officials, who won public sympathy for the voting rights movement by brutally attacking peaceful demonstrators. But while the Voting Rights Act represented an unqualified victory over such forces of hate, May explains that its achievements remain in jeopardy. Many argue that the 2008 election of President Barack Obama rendered the act obsolete, yet recent years have seen renewed efforts to curb voting rights and deny minorities the act's hard-won protections. Legal challenges to key sections of the act may soon lead the Supreme Court to declare those protections unconstitutional.
Call Number: KF4893 M39 2013ISBN: 9780465018468Publication Date: 2013-04-09
Election Administration
Election Administration in the United States by
Some of the nation's leading experts look at various aspects of election administration, including issues of ballot format, changes in registration procedures, the growth in the availability of absentee ballot rules and other forms of 'convenience voting', and changes in the technology used to record our votes. They also look at how the Bush v. Gore decision has been used by courts that monitor the election process and at the consequences of changes in practice for levels of invalid ballots, magnitude of racial disparities in voting, voter turnout, and access to the ballot by those living outside the United States. The editors, in their introduction, also consider the normative question of exactly what we want a voting system to do. An epilogue by two leading election law specialists looks at how election administration and election contest issues played out in the 2012 presidential election.
Call Number: JK1976 E437 2014ISBN: 9781107048638Publication Date: 2014-10-06
The Final Arbiter: The Consequences of Bush v. Gore for Law and Politics by
Combines perspectives from law and the social sciences to assess the long-term impact of the 2000 presidential election.
Call Number: KF5074.2 F56 2005ISBN: 0791482847Publication Date: 2005-01-01- Principles of the Law, Election Administration: Non-Precinct Voting and Resolution of Ballot Counting Disputes byCall Number: KF4886 .P752 (Reserve Collection behind Circulation Desk)Publication Date: 2016
- Voting and Election Administration byCall Number: LEG 2.3:B/2002/1 (Wisconsin Documents on 2nd Floor East)Publication Date: 2002
Redistricting
Drawing the Lines: Constraints on Partisan Gerrymandering in U.S. Politics by
Discusses perceptions and misperceptions of partisan redistricting, redistricting and partisan bias, implications for redistricting reform, and more.
Call Number: JK1341 .S39 2017ISBN: 9781501707780Publication Date: 2017-01-01
The Political Battle over Congressional Redistricting by
John Engler, former Governor of Michigan, once claimed that redistricting is one of the purest actions a legislative body can take. Academicians and political leaders alike, however, have regularly debated the ideal way by to redistrict national and state legislatures. Rather than being the pure process that Governor Engler envisioned, redistricting has led to repeated court battles waged on such traditional democratic values as one person, one vote, and minority rights. Instead of being an opportunity to help ensure maximum representation for the citizens, the process has become a cat and mouse game in many states with citizen representation seemingly the farthest idea from anyone's mind. From a purely political perspective, those in power in the state legislature at the time of redistricting largely act like they have unilateral authority to do as they please. In this volume, contributors discuss why such an assumption is concerning in the modern political environment.
Call Number: JK1341 P65 2013ISBN: 9780739169834Publication Date: 2013-06-07- Redistricting Litigation: An Overview of Legal, Statistical, and Case-Managment Issues byCall Number: JU 13.2: L 71/20 (Government Documents, 1st Floor West)Publication Date: 2002Also available online
The Realist's Guide to Redistricting: Avoiding the Legal Pitfalls by
Following the 2010 census, every state will undertake the often contentious process of redistricting. Though some principles remain constant, much has changed in the decade since the last round of redistricting. This practical handbook is written by some of the most seasoned experts in the field. It walks you through the fundamentals of redistricting law and will help you identify the legal pitfalls that may lie ahead.
Call Number: KF4905 R39 2010ISBN: 9781604427837Publication Date: 2011-08-16
Campaign Finance
- Democracy by the People by Thanks to a series of recent US Supreme Court decisions, corporations can now spend unlimited sums to influence elections, Super PACs and dark money groups are flourishing, and wealthy individuals and special interests increasingly dominate American politics. Despite the overwhelming support of Americans to fix this broken system, serious efforts at reform have languished. Campaign finance is a highly intricate and complex area of the law, and the current system favors the incumbent politicians who oversee it. This illuminating book takes these hard realities as a starting point and offers realistic solutions to reform campaign finance. With contributions from more than a dozen leading scholars of election law, it should be read by anyone interested in reclaiming the promise of American democracy.Call Number: E-Book Access availableISBN: 9781316822906Publication Date: 2018-12-01
The Appearance of Corruption: Testing the Supreme Court's Assumptions about Campaign Finance Reform by
A critical analysis of the connections that the United States Supreme Court has made between campaign finance regulations and voters' behavior. The sanctity of political speech is a key element of the United States Constitution and a cornerstone of the American republic. When the Supreme Court linked political speech to campaign finance in its landmark Buckley v. Valeo (1976) decision, the modern era of campaign finance regulation was born. The decision stated that in order to pass constitutional muster, any laws limiting money in politics must be narrowly tailored and serve a compelling state interest. The lone state interest the Court was willing to entertain was the mitigation of corruption. In order to reach this conclusion, the Court advanced a sophisticated behavioral model that made assumptions about how laws affect voters' opinions and behavior.
Call Number: KF4920 .S53 2021ISBN: 9780197548417Publication Date: 2021-02-16
The Campaign Finance Cases: Buckley, McConnell, Citizens United, and McCutcheon by
Discusses some of the major Supreme Court cases whose decisions had major implications for campaign finance law.
Call Number: KF4920 .U755 2020ISBN: 0700629882Publication Date: 2020-10-23
The Constitution and Campaign Finance Reform: An Anthology by
This new edition assembles the scholarship of some of the most prominent critics and supporters of jurisprudence on the U.S. Constitution and campaign finance. Contributors include academics, judges, reform advocates and practitioners, including Columbia law professor Richard Briffault, Chicago law professor Case R. Sunstei, former FCC Commission Chairman Reed Hundt, Democracy 21 president Fred Wertheimer, and former U.S. Court of Appeals for the D.C. Circuit Judge J. Skelly Wright. Among many important topics, the new edition discusses the concept of money as speech, the possible compelling state interests necessary to justify government limitations, and various alternative methods of regulating campaign finance.
Call Number: KF4920 C57 2006ISBN: 9780890894248Publication Date: 2006-01-01- Campaign Finance Law: A Legal Research Guide by A legal research guide on the important topic of campaign finance law (as distinguished from election law). It provides primary sources--including federal and state statutes as well as federal and state regulations--and secondary sources on the fundamentals regarding campaign finance requirements, violations, limitations and contributions, among other issues. The guide is easy to read and use, and provides an invaluable tool and resource for lawyers, campaign workers, election officials, and the general public interested in the topic.--Publisher.Call Number: KF4920.A1 F53 2020 (Reference Collection in HHR Reading Room, 5th Floor)ISBN: 0837741270Publication Date: 2020-01-01
Free to Judge: The Power of Campaign Money in Judicial Elections by
The idea that wealthy people use their money to influence things, including politics, law, and media will surprise very few people. However, as Michael S. Kang and Joanna Shepherd argue in this readable and rich study of the state judiciary, the effect of money on judicial outcomes should disturb and anger everyone. In the current system that elects state judges, the rich and powerful can spend money to elect and re-elect judges who decide cases the way they want. Free to Judge is about how and why money increasingly affects the dispensation of justice in our legal system, and what can be done to stop it.
Call Number: KF8776 .K36 2023 (currently on New Book Shelf on 5th Floor)ISBN: 9781503627611Publication Date: 2023-08-22
