SJMC 447: Strategic Media Planning - Medsker, Deb (Spring 2024) : Consumer Trends

Market research reports on over 700 different industries in the United States, organized by NAICS code. The reports include key statistics, market segmentation, life cycle, regulation, market share, industry outlook, and more.
Access: Available to anyone on-campus. Available off campus for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff only.

In-depth reports from 2001-present that analyze market size and segmentation, consumer attitudes, and marketing strategies relative to hundreds of consumer products in the United States. Lifestyle reports such as "Green Marketing" and "Spending Habits of the Teen Consumer" are also available. (New reports issued monthly)
Access: All access requires a UW-Madison NetID to log in. You must be a current UW-Madison faculty member, student, or staff to use this database either on or off-campus.

U.S. consumer data including demographics, psychographics, product usage, spending behavior and media habits. The data is compiled from the Simmons National Consumer Study of U.S. adults age 18 and older which is conducted each year. (Updated annually)
User Guide: Please see our Tutorials and Help Pages for assistance with creating reports and interpreting the results.
Access: Available to anyone on-campus. Available off campus for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff only. Licensed for 4 simultaneous users.

Searchable collection of market and consumer data from wide range of sources: government, NGOs, industry, marketing and trade groups. Statista includes ready-made statistical charts, graphs and tables on marketing, demographics, communication, technology, politics, health, leisure and public opinion polls. About 20 percent of the data in Statista comes from government sources like the World Bank and the U.S. Census. The rest comes from industry, marketing, and trade groups. The tables, charts and graphs can be downloaded as images or into Microsoft Powerpoint and Excel.
Access: Use in Grainger Hall only (not wireless). This includes Business Learning Commons, Huber Lab and Finance & Analytics Lab. No remote access is permitted. While the Business Library is closed contact Peggy Smith with any questions (peggy.smith@wisc.edu)

Provides company profiles, industry reports, financial deal reports and,country reports. Also contains case studies. Industry profiles include Porter’s Five Forces.
Access: Available to anyone on-campus. Available off campus for UW-Madison students, faculty and staff only.

Technavio provides over 17,000 marketing research reports for over 100 industry segments and over 800 niche and emerging technologies.
Access: All access requires a UW-Madison NetID to log in. You must be a current UW-Madison faculty member, student, or staff to use this database either on or off-campus. PDFs of reports must be requested using a “wisc.edu” email address.