HISTORY 100: FIG: Russia and America (Fall 2024) : Multi-Subject Databases

Academic Search Premier is a multidisciplinary database that provides full text for more than 4,600 journals, including approximately 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. A total of 8,500 journals are indexed and abstracted. PDF backfiles to 1975 or earlier are available for over 100 journals and searchable cited references are provided for more than 1,000 titles.

ProQuest’s indexing databases cover multiple disciplines and provide indexing of dissertations and theses, historical newspapers; government documents and scholarly journals. Selected Proquest databases that have content relevant to Russian and Soviet history and culture are: Humanities Index‎, Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals, GenderWatch, Film Index International, International Index to Performing Arts (IIPA), Periodical Index Online, Periodicals Archive Online, Sociological Abstracts, International Bibliography of the Social Sciences, Historical Newspapers (NYT, etc)

JSTOR is a full-text journal database which provides access to more than 1,200 titles in the fields of anthropology, economics, education, film, folklore, history, language, literature, sociology, and other subjects. Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 3 to 5 years of the most current issue, depending on the title. The "moving wall" represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal; it is specified by publishers in their license agreements with JSTOR.

Project Muse provides full text access to more than 300 humanities and social science journals from various publishers. Disciplines covered include art, anthropology, literature, film, theatre, history, ethnic and cultural studies, music, philosophy, religion, psychology, sociology and women's studies.

Includes the "Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI)" --1900-present as well as the "Arts & Humanities Citation Index (A&HCI)" --1975-present

Google Scholar enables you to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all major areas of research.