JKBooks is the electronic book platform for JapanKnowledge. In contrast to the JapanKnowledge Lib archive of reference resource materials, JKBooks offers a collection of publications containing specialized content through its database. It features fast searches for desired content, and unaltered PDF page images of original books, while retaining the inherent ease of reading physical books in its display.
This series of journals is a rare find, an English periodical not owned by any library in Japan. Publication started one year before the Tokyo Olympic Games and ended after 14 years when Japan stood in the global arena as an economic giant. These 56 volumes paint a clear picture of what Japan was like to those outside the country. From the heated stock trading in Kabutocho to the all-female troupe of the Takarazuka Revue, the layout focused widely on sociocultural aspects of Japan, drawing from a large pool of high-quality photographs. The photographers include masters such as Kazuo Kakinuma, best known for his portraits; Minoru Hirata, who shot ordinary people’s daily lives; and Yoichi Midorikawa, the “magician of light” best known for his exquisite landscape photographs. These photographers captured Showa Era Japan through their brilliant and vivid shots. These periodicals are recommended as a crucial information source for the study of Japan during the Showa Era in such disciplines as the history of media, modern and current history, historical sociology, cultural history, history of photography and the history of design.
Japan Times Enthronement Number 1928
“The Japan Times Enthronement Number,” originally published in 1928 to commemorate Emperor Hirohito’s enthronement, is a remarkable snapshot not only of Japan at a time when the Meiji constitutional system with the emperor at the political and societal apex was thoroughly accepted but also of a moment of bustling commerce, international cooperation and, for the time, liberalism. This happy interlude was soon disrupted by the 1929 stock market crash and subsequent events. Article titles ranging from “Socialist Movements in Japan” to “Women Writers of Present Day Japan” to “Development of Formosa” (Japan was unapologetically an empire at the time, then the norm for great powers) showcase the comprehensive nature of this volume. This reissued edition is a must-read for anyone wanting to understand Japan’s 20th-century trajectory, as well as its ongoing evolution. Particularly interesting is to compare the Japan of 2019, the year Emperor Showa’s son Emperor Emeritus Akihito abdicated and Emperor Naruhito was enthroned, with the Japan of 1928.
**Free trial available until May 23**
Kinokuniya Digital Library is a cloud-based digital library service provided through the Internet with academic Japanese ebooks including recent titles. Although reading time limit is only 5 minutes, use this as your are in the book store reading part of the book to help you decide to purchase it or not. It has purchase request function.
NOTE: Kinokuniya Company Ltd. (Chairman and President Masashi Takai) will expand the number of concurrent users for select eBooks on KinoDen (Kinokuniya Digital Library) through July 31, 2020. Regardless of the original purchase conditions, the number of concurrent users will increase to a maximum of 50. This expanded access will be applied to select eBooks purchased by libraries, and no additional fee is required.
**Free trial available until end of May**
Maruzen is offering a free Trial Reading until the end of May with the following conditions and for the attached list of over 56,000 titles. This offer also limits reading time for 5 minutes. Use this service as “Tachi yomi” function. If you would like to get it for the library, send me the request.
There is a 5-minute limit in browsing one single title per session. A message will appear after 5 minutes and users will need to restart their browser to continue browsing.
• Institutions outside of Japan are eligible.
• Access will be offered until the end of May, taking into consideration the finals in the US.
• Concurrent access will be unlimited, but printing and downloading will not be possible.
• Accessible titles will cover all titles that are available as “Trial Reading” outside of Japan.
Temporary free access to the J-DAC database Prefectural Statistics Online is available, to assist researchers during the pandemic. Official announcement from Maruzen-Yushodo Co., Ltd. but this is only in Japanese.
**Trial set until July 15**
Published in three parts, this collection makes available extensive coverage of British Foreign Office files dealing with Japan between 1919 and 1952.
**Please do not circulate this information beyond your academic users in Japanese studies, out of respect to their businesses.**
• Japanese Imperialism and the War in the Pacific, 1931-1945 (we purchased this part)
• Occupation of Japan, 1946-1952 (trial)
• Japan and Great Power Status, 1919-1930 (trial)
Incorporating the Taishō to the Shōwa periods, these papers throw light on Anglo-Japanese ties in a time of shifting alliances. Documenting Japan’s journey to modernity, the files discuss a period in which the country took on an increasingly bold imperialist agenda. Strong relations following the signing of the Treaty of Versailles were tested then ultimately destroyed, and by December 1941, Japan and the United Kingdom were on opposing sides of the Second World War.
These Foreign Office files cover British concerns over colonial-held territory in the Far East, as well as Japanese relations with China, Russia, Germany and the United States. Following surrender at the end of the Second World War, Japan was occupied by foreign forces for the first time in its history. The occupation resulted in disarmament, liberalisation and a new constitution as the country was transformed into a parliamentary democracy. Japan emerged once again as a player on the world stage.
Consisting of diplomatic dispatches, correspondence, maps, summaries of events and diverse other material, this collection from the rich FO 371 and FO 262 series unites formerly restricted Japan-centric documents, and is enhanced by the addition of a selection of FO 371 Western and American Department and Far Eastern sub papers.
J-STAGE (The Japan Science and Technology Information Aggregator, Electronic) is a repository of academic journal articles and research papers created and maintained by the Japan Science and Technology Agency (JSTA). Entries marked with the “Free/PDF” icon are available in full-text form free of charge. Some items may require a nominal fee for viewing. Other entries consist of bibliographic citations only.
If an item's full text is not available, search the journal title in the UW Library Catalog to see if the journal is available through other databases; if it is not, use ILL. Patrons may register for MY J-STAGE, which allows access to additional services. Access to J-STAGE is free, and the site is available independent of the UW Libraries website. NOTE: When accessing the database on non-campus computers, using Google Chrome is recommended (PDF files may not open in Internet Explorer or Firefox on computers with older versions of Windows, unless the Abode Reader Font Pack for Japanese has been installed).
**You might have to change the language from Chinese to Japanese when you first access to this page. Full-text documents of the Tokyo Trials of Japanese war criminals in World War II. Includes transcripts of proceedings and court exhibits, along with historical photos, audio and video.