GEOG 101: Introduction to Human Geography (Spring 2025) : Welcome
Library Session Slides
- Library Session SlidesView the slides used during our librarian class visits to discussion sections on February 4 & 5, 2025.
Reflection Question
- Reflection QuestionYou'll receive a copy of your response to the question in your email, so, it will serve as a reminder of what you learned today.
Welcome
Welcome to your library course guide for Geography 101! This guide will help you with finding resources to support your course assignments.
The guide includes information about
- how to find articles using library databases
- how to access geography journals and to search within them to find articles
- how to evaluate sources
- how to find resources to support your writing, citing and presenting
- how to ask a librarian for help with your research
Recommended Reference E-Texts
These reference texts, mentioned in your syllabus, provide explanations of geographical terms and concepts. Please note that for your scaffolded research assignment, you are to find at least one source from Oxford Bibliographies: Geography (follow link to text, below) or from one of two journals, Geography Compass or Progress in Human Geography (follow links to these journals from this box on the Geography Journals page).
A Dictionary of Human Geography by ISBN: 9780199599868Publication Date: 2013-06-10From basic terms and concepts to biographical entries, acronyms, organizations, and major periods and schools in the history of human geography, this text provides up-to-date, accurate, and accessible information.
Encyclopedia of Human Geography by ISBN: 9780761988588Publication Date: 2006-05-16This multidisciplinary volume provides cross-cultural coverage of human geography as it is understood in the contemporary world and takes into account the enormous conceptual changes that have evolved since the 1970s, including a variety of social constructivist approaches.
Oxford Bibliographies. Geography by Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on geography. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
The Wiley-Blackwell Companion to Cultural Geography by ISBN: 9781118384466Publication Date: 2013-02-14Coverage of key themes and debates from a variety of historical and theoretical perspectives in cultural geography.
Steenbock Librarian
Karen Dunn
Contact:
Steenbock Library;
Science & Engineering Libraries (SEL)
I am happy to schedule consultations!
Science & Engineering Libraries (SEL)
I am happy to schedule consultations!
Librarian
Beth Harper
she/her/hers
Contact:
Memorial Library
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Government Information Specialist
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Government Information Specialist
Librarian
Rebecca Payne
she/her/hers
Contact:
Instruction Coordinator & Public Services Librarian, Memorial Library
Click bookmark to view my page and contact info in staff directory page.
Website
Click bookmark to view my page and contact info in staff directory page.
