GEOG 101: Introduction to Human Geography (Fall 2025) : Welcome

Library Session Slides

Library Session Slides
View the slides used during our librarian class visits to discussion sections on September 30 and October 1, 2025.

Reflection Question

Reflection Question
You'll receive a copy of your response to the question in your email, so, it will serve as a helpful reminder of what you learned today.

Welcome

Welcome to your library course guide for Geography 101! This guide will help you with finding resources to support your course assignments.

The guide includes information about

how to find articles using library databases
how to access geography journals and to search within them to find articles
how to evaluate sources
how to find resources to support your writing, citing and presenting
how to ask a librarian for help with your research

Recommended Reference Texts

Below are reference texts mentioned in the "Subfields in Human Geography" guide. For each subfield you propose to use in your Topologia scaffolded assignment, at least one of the your entries should be from Geography Compass (See Journals page.), Progress in Human Geography (See Journals page.), or one of the recommended geography reference texts listed below.

A Dictionary of Human Geography by Alisdair Rogers; Noel Castree; Rob Kitchin
ISBN: 9780199599868

Publication Date: 2013-06-10

From basic terms and concepts to biographical entries, acronyms, organizations, and major periods and schools in the history of human geography, this text provides up-to-date, accurate, and accessible information.
Encyclopedia of Human Geography by Barney Warf (Editor)
ISBN: 9780761988588

Publication Date: 2006-05-16

This multidisciplinary volume provides cross-cultural coverage of human geography as it is understood in the contemporary world and takes into account the enormous conceptual changes that have evolved since the 1970s, including a variety of social constructivist approaches.
Oxford Bibliographies. Geography by Barney Warf (Editor) *
Offers peer-reviewed annotated bibliographies on geography. Bibliographies are browseable by subject area and keyword searchable.
The Wiley Blackwell Companion to Cultural and Social Geography by Ishan Ashutosh (Editor); Jamie Winders (Editor)
ISBN: 9781119634263

Publication Date: 2025-04-22

The Companion to Social and Cultural Geography provides reliable and up-to-date coverage of both foundational topics and emerging themes within two vibrant and increasingly interconnected subdisciplines of geography. Building upon the Companion to Cultural Geography first published in 2013, editors Ishan Ashutosh and Jamie Winders offer an expertly curated collection of original essays with special emphasis on early-career scholars, geographers of color, and geographers from the Global South.
The Wiley Blackwell Companion to Political Geography by Virginie Mamadouh (Editor); Natalie Koch (Editor); Chih Yuan Woon (Editor); John A. Agnew (Editor)
ISBN: 9781119753919

Publication Date: 2025-04-29

The Wiley Blackwell Companion to Political Geography offers a wide-ranging overview of the dynamic field, providing critical insights into the ways political geographers investigate and interpret the rapidly changing world. Reflecting the dramatic shifts in global events and politics over the past decade, this thoroughly updated volume bridges theoretical debates and empirical research to provide a clear and comprehensive understanding of foundational themes and critical contemporary issues.