ENTOM 375 (FIG): One Health: Connecting Human, Animal, and Environmental Health (Fall 2025) : Getting Started

Introduction

This guide has been developed to link you to selected resources from our library collections and services that should help you as you complete your papers and projects.

Our library staff is committed to supporting your work as students. We recognize that finding and retrieving information can sometimes feel overwhelming. Please let us know how we can assist you, now, and throughout your time at UW-Madison.

UW-Madison Libraries, Your Portal to Resources

The UW-Madison Libraries website library.wisc.edu will be the starting point for most of your searches, as well as providing links to our locations and services.

Essential information:

• The library catalog is where you can find books, music, and more from among our collections.
• The library database menu and article search help you to find and retrieve published articles.
• Your Wiscard is your library card (for physical materials, if borrowing on-site).
• Use your NetID/password to log in to resources from off-campus as well, when prompted, to open your library account and to place requests for special services (book retrieval and article requests). 

Library Session Activity: Database Searching Showdown

Try out a database with a small group, then share what you learn! Return to the group notes doc for your classmates' search tips and tricks when working on your project!

Link: Database Searching Showdown Activity Notes

Featured databases:

• Google Scholar
• PubMed
• Web of Science
• Wildlife & Ecology Studies
• Agricultural & Environmental Science

Instructions:

1. Follow the link on the Find Research Articles & Public Health Information page of your course guide to open your database.
2. Search for articles about the topic of pet therapy. Explore the database features! Try multiple search terms, click on links and icons, check or uncheck boxes, and note what happens when you do.
3. Use the Database Searching Showdown Activity Notes document to evaluate your database (4 questions). Record your experiences and observations.
4. Share what you found with the class!