- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- ENTOM 375 (FIG): One Health: Connecting Human, Animal, and Environmental Health (Fall 2025)
- Find Research Articles & Public Health Information
ENTOM 375 (FIG): One Health: Connecting Human, Animal, and Environmental Health (Fall 2025) : Find Research Articles & Public Health Information
Research Articles: Multidisciplinary Databases
Databases that have strong, multidisciplinary coverage of many subjects in and beyond the biosciences are useful starting points for just about any research question.
-
Web of ScienceCollection of databases indexing scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, from journals, conference proceedings, symposia, and more. Includes citation network data.
-
ScopusLarge, multidisciplinary database that covers science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities. Includes tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.
-
Google ScholarScholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research from a wide variety of sources.
Research Articles: Subject-focused Databases
Databases with focused coverage of a particular discipline can help you explore your topic thoroughly. These often include filters, subject terms, and other features that are designed for researchers in that field, which may help you find relevant articles more quickly. Below are examples of databases focusing on a range of subjects that may be relevant for your topic.
-
Agricultural & Environmental ScienceFocused research tool for cross-disciplinary agriculture and environmental sciences research. Discover journals, trade publications, and conference proceedings. Featuring Agricola Index.
-
APA PsycINFOLarge database covering the field of psychology, behavioral science and mental health, including the psychological aspects of medicine, nursing, education, physiology, business, law, and more.
-
Biological AbstractsLarge article database covering all aspects of biology including bacteriology, cell biology, genetics, microbiology, pathology, physiology, toxicology, virology, zoology, and more.
-
CABI: CAB AbstractsCovers the world of plants and animals including animal and crop production, breeding, environmental impacts, nutrition, and veterinary science.
-
Ecology AbstractsIndex to ecology research journal articles, covering interactions of all organisms - microbes, plants, and animals - to their environment and to each other.
-
GreenFILEDatabase covering all aspects of human impact to the environment, including global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and more.
-
PubMed/MedlineCovers the biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Also provides access to NCBI databases covering molecular biology. From the NIH's National Library of Medicine.
-
Wildlife and Ecology Studies WorldwideLiterature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians from journals, books, proceedings, government reports, grey literature, books, theses, dissertations, field studies, and more.
Public Health Information
-
CDC: US Centers for Disease Control and PreventionAs the national public health agency, the CDC's main goal is to protect public health and safety through control and prevention of disease, injury, and disability in the United States and worldwide.
-
WHO: World Health OrganizationWHO is a specialized agency of the United Nations that coordinates responses to public health concerns and emergencies internationally.
Searching Within Databases
To review how to search within databases, watch the following video (2min, 28 sec):
Finding Full Text
Many of the databases on this page only contain information about articles. You'll often have to go to another site to get the full text and actually read those articles.
To find the full text:
- Look for a full text link on the database page.
- If there is no full text link, click on the red Find It at UW button to see if we have full text access:
- If it is not available through Find It, there will be a link to request a copy. A librarian will find the article and send it to you for free!
Understand the Peer Review Process
Scholarly articles frequently undergo a peer review process before they are published. This means that experts in the field are invited by the journal editors to review the quality of the article, and to make suggestions for improvements before publication.
This video explains the peer review process:
-
Peer Review in Three MinutesHow do articles get peer reviewed? What role does peer review play in scholarly research and publication?Video created by NCSU Libraries.