Education: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Affirmative Action
News
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
- Newspaper Research GuideThis guide describes sources for current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microfilm through the UW-Madison Libraries. These sources are categorized by pages: Current, Historical, Local/Madison, Wisconsin, US, Alternative/Ethnic, and International.
Organizations
- UW-Madison Office for Equity and DiversityThe Office for Equity and Diversity (OED) is a unit within the Office of the Provost. Contains information on the University's Affirmative Action Plan and the Affirmative Action Policy Statement.
- Adversity.NetAdversity.Net is a non-profit, educational organization founded in 1997 to promote fair and equal treatment under the law without regard to race, gender or ethnicity
- American Association for Affirmative ActionA national non-for-profit association of professionals who promote understanding and advocacy of affirmative action to enhance access and equality in employment, economic and educational opportunities.
- The Center for Individual Rights (CIR)The Center for Individual Rights (CIR) is a non-profit public interest law firm dedicated to the defense of individual liberties. CIR objects to racial preferences and affirmative action
- University of Michigan: Admissions LawsuitsThe University of Michigan's site compiles information related to their involvement in affirmative action admissions lawsuits. The site contains a legal overview, FAQs, supporting research, as well as briefs and letters of support for the U of M.
About Affirmative Action
Affirmative action refers to a series of steps, legislation, and practices in recruiting, selecting, hiring, and promoting that are designed to overcome the present effects of past discrimination against members of minority groups. In the United States the major minority classifications include age, race, religion, national origin, and sex.
Try searching these terms using the resources linked on this page: affirmative action programs, discrimination in employment, reverse discrimination, affirmative action and (colleges or universit*), affirmative action and (jobs or employ*), affirmative action and government, affirmative action and (laws or legislation), affirmative action and women, affirmative action and Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, affirmative action and women and employ*, affirmative action and minority and employ.
Overview Resources - Background Information
- CQ ResearcherContains weekly in-depth reports that cover the most current and controversial issues of the day with complete summaries, insight into all sides of the issues, bibliographies and more.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center(OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
Books
The Affirmative Action Puzzle by Call Number: HF5549.5.A34 U76 2020ISBN: 1101870877Publication Date: 2020
Should Race Matter? by Call Number: HT1521 B634 2011 or ebookISBN: 9780521149808Publication Date: 2011-11-14
Affirmative Action for the Rich: Legacy Preferences in College Admissions by Call Number: LB2351.2 A43 2010ISBN: 9780870785184Publication Date: 2010-09-22
Affirmative Action by Call Number: HF5549.5 A34 J64 2009ISBN: 0313338140Publication Date: 2009-05-19
Affirmative Action for the Future by Call Number: KF4755.5 S74 2009ISBN: 9780801446078Publication Date: 2009-08-06
Articles - Scholarly and Popular
- Academic SearchIncludes scholarly and popular articles on many topics.
- America: History and LifeAmerica : History and Life indexes and abstracts more than 1700 social science and humanities journals in the field of United States and Canadian history. (See Historical Abstracts for non-North American coverage.) Links to full-text articles are included when available. Books and dissertations are included
- Anthropological Index OnlineAnthropological Index Online contains citations for more than 770 international journals and special interest publications in all areas of anthropology and archaeology. Journals indexed are published in more than 40 languages.
- Ethnic NewsWatchEthnic NewsWatch (ENW) features newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. With titles dating from 1990, ENW presents a comprehensive, full-text collection of more than 1.8 million articles from more than 315 publications offering both national and regional coverage.
Statistics and Data
- Affirmative Action: Empirical ResearchExcerpts of statistical data from the Affirmative Action Review presented to President Clinton in 1995.
- Affirmative Action Review: Report to the President (1995)The complete report that was submitted to President Clinton on July 19, 1995. Includes a history of affirmative action, its rationale and justification, statistics demonstrating its effects, and overviews of existing affirmative action programs.
Videos
- Television News ArchiveBrought to you by UW-Madison Libraries, the Television News Archive is a searchable collection of network news television broadcasts from 1968 to the present.