Current Topics: An Undergraduate Research Guide : Black Lives Matter Movement
News
- Ethnic NewsWatchEthnic NewsWatch (ENW) features newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives.
- Newspaper Source PlusNewspaper Source Plus includes 1,520 full-text newspapers, providing more than 28 million full-text articles.
Organizations
See "Overview Resources - Background Information" above for more organizations.
- Black Alliance for Just ImmigrationBAJI educates and engages African American and black immigrant communities to organize and advocate for racial, social and economic justice.
- National Black Justice CoalitionThe National Black Justice Coalition (NBJC) is a civil rights organization dedicated to empowering Black lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender (LGBT) people
- Showing Up for Racial JusticeSURJ is a national network of groups and individuals organizing white people for racial justice.
About the Black Lives Matter Movement
From the official website, Black Lives Matter is a movement "whose mission is to eradicate white supremacy and build local power to intervene in violence inflicted on Black communities by the state and vigilantes. By combating and countering acts of violence, creating space for Black imagination and innovation, and centering Black joy, we are winning immediate improvements in our lives."
Try searching these terms in different combinations using the resources linked on this page: black lives matter, blacklivesmatter, policing AND racial disparities, "social media" AND "black lives matter", racial justice, social justice, black liberation, black feminism, race AND prison, race AND education, race AND employment
Overview Resources - Background Information
- Black Lives Matter movement - official websiteThis website, maintained by the founders of the movement, provides an overview, a "herstory" of the movement, events, and news. Also includes links to relevant social media accounts.
- The Movement for Black Lives"In response to the sustained and increasingly visible violence against Black communities in the U.S. and globally, a collective of more than 50 organizations representing thousands of Black people from across the country have come together with renewed energy and purpose to articulate a common vision and agenda." Includes a list of organizations, platform information, and informative handouts and guides.
- Wikipedia - Black Lives MatterThe Wikipedia entry about the movement. Extremely detailed with an extensive bibliography and suggestions for further reading. Be attentive to the potential for vandalism and confirm facts with a second source!
Books
The Black Athlete Revolt: The Sport Justice Movement in the Age of #BlackLivesMatter by Call Number: GV706.32 .A54 2022ISBN: 9781538153246Publication Date: 2023-02-08
When They Call You a Terrorist: A Black Lives Matter Memoir by Call Number: E185.97.K43 A3 2018ISBN: 9781250171085Publication Date: 2018-01-16
Making All Black Lives Matter by Call Number: E185.615 .R26 2018 or ebookISBN: 0520292715Publication Date: 2018-08-28
The Fire This Time: A New Generation Speaks About Race by Call Number: E185.615 .F526 2016 or ebookISBN: 1501126350Publication Date: 2017-06-20
Policing the Planet: Why the Policing Crisis Led to Black Lives Matter by Call Number: HV8141 .P5977 2016ISBN: 9781784783167Publication Date: 2016-05-24
From #BlackLivesMatter to Black Liberation by
Winner of the 2016 Lannan Cultural Freedom Prize for an Especially Notable Book "Keeanga-Yamahtta Taylor's searching examination of the social, political and economic dimensions of the prevailing racial order offers important context for understanding the necessity of the emerging movement for black liberation." --Michelle Alexander The eruption of mass protests in the wake of the police murders of Michael Brown in Ferguson, Missouri and Eric Garner in New York City have challenged the impunity with which officers of the law carry out violence against Black people and punctured the illusion of a postracial America. The Black Lives Matter movement has awakened a new generation of activists. In this stirring and insightful analysis, activist and scholar Keeanga-Yamahtta Taylor surveys the historical and contemporary ravages of racism and persistence of structural inequality such as mass incarceration and Black unemployment. In this context, she argues that this new struggle against police violence holds the potential to reignite a broader push for Black liberation.
Call Number: E185.86 .T367 2016 or ebookISBN: 9781608465620Publication Date: 2016-02-23
Articles - Scholarly and Popular
- Academic SearchYou can limit to newspapers and magazines to find popular sources or limit to scholarly journals to find scholarly sources.
- America: History and Lifeincludes social science and humanities articles about United States and Canadian history.
- PsycINFOincludes articles, book chapters, and books in the field of psychology, behavioral science and mental health.
- SocINDEX with Full Textincludes articles on sociology topics.
Statistics and Data
- Bureau of Justice Statistics - Law EnforcementBJS's Law Enforcement Unit maintains more than a dozen national data collections, covering federal, state, and local law enforcement agencies and special topics in law enforcement.
- Harvard Kennedy School - Excessive or Reasonable Force by Police?Based at Harvard’s Shorenstein Center on Media, Politics and Public Policy, Journalist’s Resource examines news topics through a research lens. We surface scholarship relevant to media practitioners, bloggers, educators, students and general readers.