Women's History Research in Archives : Women's Archives

Actively collects the professional records of women leaders in medicine and promotes and celebrates women’s achievements in science and medicine. Boston, MA

Provides access to the records of women who have reshaped theological education and American church life since 1900. New York, NY

Includes 200+ collections from various nurses and nursing organizations, chronicling the history of the nursing profession from its beginnings to the present day. Boston, MA

Documents Jewish women's stories, elevates their voices, and inspires them to be agents of change. Brookline, MA

Exists to gather, preserve and provide access to records of Lesbian lives and activities. Brooklyn, NY

Identifies, collects, and processes collections that advance the capacity for research and teaching on women, gender, and feminist scholarship in the University library system. Providence, RI

Provides primary resources for scholars and others who are interested in feminism, punk activism, queer theory, gender theory, DIY culture, print history, and music history. New York, NY

Illuminates the lives of American women past and present through its collections, research support, public programming, and exhibitions. Cambridge, MA

A selection of work created, developed, and inspired by the Sisters of St. Joseph of Boston. Boston, MA

Women’s reproductive rights and justice, women’s liberation movements, suffrage and civil rights, community activism, iconoclast creators, women’s economic justice, lesbian and queer communities, and women’s environmental justice. Northampton, MA

Records of women's architectural organizations and the professional papers of women architects, landscape architects, designers, architectural historians and critics, journalists, and urban planners. Blacksburg, VA

Materials about and illustrating Mary McLeod Bethune, the National Council of Negro Women, other African American women's organizations, and individuals associated with those organizations. Washington, DC

Identify playwrights, collect and preserve their work, try to make it widely known, and encourage performances and continued creativity. Oxford, OH

Acquires, preserves, and makes accessible materials documenting the rich history of women and gender in the Gulf South. New Orleans, LA

Acquires, preserves, and provides access to published and unpublished materials that reflect the public and private lives of women throughout history. Durham, NC

Collects, preserves, interprets, and promotes the history of the General Federation of Women's Clubs. Washington, DC

Includes personal and professional papers of women in all areas of the sciences and engineering, except that of the medical sciences, as well as records of women’s organizations in these fields. Ames, IA

Holds more than 1,200 manuscript collections that chronicle the lives and work of Iowa women, their families, and their communities. Iowa City, IA

Collects, preserves, and makes available permanently valuable records of women and women's organizations, which document women's lives, roles, and contributions. Chicago, IL

Contains the records of women’s organizations and the papers of Texas women. Houston, TX

Collect, preserve, and make accessible lesbian, feminist, and women’s history as a means of providing a link between multi-generational lesbians. Los Angeles, CA

Collect, preserve, and provide access to primary source materials documenting women's history in Southern Nevada. Las Vegas, NV

Largest source of research materials on Southern and Southwestern women in the United States. Denton, TX

Its goal is to preserve the contributions women make to family and community, science and culture, as well as business and government. Stillwater, OK

Promotes the recognition of women in Welsh history and the preservation of sources of women’s history in Wales.

The archive of the German women's movement is the place where the history of women and women's movements of the 19th and 20th centuries is collected and made available for use by science and the interested public.

Historical Archive of the Feminist Movement (Italy)

Collects, stores and documents material about the position of women in all fields - such as law, politics, labor, care, history, art, literature, science, religion, sexuality, gender equality and feminism. (Netherlands)

Contains more than 190 archival collections related to the history of women in Canada, with particular emphasis on the feminist movement since the 1960s.

Documents the history of women’s movements since 1968, as well as the social, political and artistic developments that emanated from them and reach to the present. (Germany)

In the Women’s Culture Archive you will find a wide range of books and archival materials about women and their history. (Switzerland)

Preserve and convey the women’s history of Dresden and the surrounding area. (Germany)

Historical and contemporary artifacts and archive materials that celebrate the lives, histories and achievements of women. (Scotland)

The archive houses 266 collections from women's organisations throughout Switzerland and 229 private estates as well as an extensive press documentation.

Collect, preserve and promote knowledge and understanding of the cultural heritage of all women; social justice for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples; international friendship and peace. (Australia)

The Women’s Library and Information Centre Foundation (WLICF) is the first and only women-centred library and archive in Turkey.

Libraries, archives, databases and other digital resources on gender research and women’s history. (Sweden)

A political project of the autonomous women's and lesbians' movements - documentation pertaining to the women's and lesbians' movements and a broad range of literature relevant to feminist research. (Austria)