This research guide provides resources and tools for answering the type of questions generated during the PaCE self-directed learning curriculum.
Listed below are textbooks of interest in a few areas of interest. To browse a list of textbooks by subject area, see our Health Sciences Books page.
Basic Science Texts
These sources offer information about public health topics and statistics.
Best site for US health stats
These sites are sources of guidelines by major associations and the U.S. Government.
These sources all have review articles that provide evidence-based summaries about medical conditions, including clinical presentation, diagnosis, and treatment.
Use the 'Review' article type filter to limit results
These sources are databases of systematic reviews, which combine similar studies to produce evidence-based recommendations and conclusions.
Includes the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
Use the 'Systematic Review' filter to limit results
These sources provide information about signs/symptoms, diagnosis, and treatments of medical conditions.
Provides evidence-based summaries about a variety of clinical topics.
Clinical key provides access to a variety of types of resources like books and articles and First Consult is a point of care resource with succinct clinical summaries.
A point of care resource that provides evidence- based information on a wide variety of clinical topics in an easy to read bullet-point format.
A point of care resource with succinct evidence-based summaries that also provides access to systematic reviews and guidelines.
A point of care drug reference.
These sources are credible sources that can be used by the general public to find information about health and medical conditions.
For primary literature, search PubMed or other literature databases.
Largest North-American health journal databases that indexes 5000+ health journals from 1950 to now.
PubMed Clinical Queries
A specialized search box within PubMed for finding articles on clinical topics.
Health Sciences Databases List (Ebling Library)
A comprehensive list of health sciences databases available to you through UW-Madison.
Restricts the results of a Google search to scholarly literature from governmental units, websites, academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.