Skip to Main Content

Mathematics : Databases, Collections, and Reference

Purpose of the Guide

The mathematics subject guide is your guide to the mathematical information available to you at the University of Wisconsin Madison. It contains a list of the mathematical databases and digital book and journal collections to which we subscribe, as well as information about mathematical reference sources and interdisciplinary databases which contain publications related to mathematics. There are also guides on how to best use MathSciNet and the arXiv to find mathematical research; suggested books for subjects in mathematics; and some resources of mathematical fun.

Mathematics Databases

MathSciNet is the premier mathematics article database. It indexes abstracts more than 3100 mathematical journals and 7500 books, conference proceedings, theses, and technical reports. Click on the menu tab for more information on how to use MathSciNet.

arXiv is an e-print service owned and operated by Cornell University. It contains articles from physics, mathematics, computer science, statistics, and other quantitative subjects. Click on the menu tab for more information on how to use the arXiv.

Project Euclid is a collection of open-access monographs and journals, as well as some subscription journals, in theoretical and applied mathematics.

Jahrbuch is a historical collection(1868-1942) of reviews of mathematics publications from "Jahrbuch über die Fortschritte der Mathematik". It also provides access to selected articles and books.

NumDam is the French digital mathematics library. It provides full text of a wide variety of French mathematical research publications, with content from as far back as 1810 to as recent as the last couple of years.