LaTeX Guide : Introduction
What is LaTeX?
LaTeX (pronounced "lah-tech" or "lay-tech") is a free document preparation mark-up language that allows for high quality typesetting. It is used most often for documents that are complex in structure or require typesetting of mathematics. It is an alternative to using a word processor to format your document. In LaTeX the text of the document is marked-up using LaTeX commands to determine formatting, similar to using CSS to format HTML.
LaTeX contains features for:
- Sectioning, cross-references, tables and figures
- Typesetting of complex mathematical formulas
- Advanced typesetting of mathematics with AMS-LaTeX
- Automatic generation of bibliographies and indexes
- Multi-lingual typesetting
- Inclusion of artwork, and process or spot color
- Using PostScript or Metafont fonts
Quick links
- LaTeX ProjectLearn more about LaTeX. The LaTeX Project site includes information about LaTeX, where to get the software, and updates to the system.
- TeX Users Group (TUG)A membership-based, nonprofit organization for TeX users. The TUG website includes guides for getting started, information on where to get help with TeX, and events for members.
- Comprehensive TeX Archive Network (CTAN)The central repository for TeX-related software. Most packages are free to download and use.
Getting Software
Linux
Check your usual software source for a TeX package; otherwise install TeX Live directly.
MacOS
The MacTeX distribution contains everything you need.
Windows
Both MikTeX and TeX Live will work for Windows.
Other options
- Get LaTeXA variety of options for getting up and running with LaTeX, from the LaTeX project.
- OverleafOverleaf is an online collaborative writing and publishing tool for scientific documents. Overleaf provides a LaTeX editor, real-time collaboration, and the fully compiled output is produced automatically in the background as you type.
Librarian
Accessibility
In this case, "accessibility" refers to documents that are usable by people with disabilities, particularly low vision, blindness, and color blindness. This includes compatibility with screen readers and other assistive technology.
It is important to be aware that LaTeX does not produce accessible PDFs at this time. This is a known, major issue with LaTeX typesetting. If your document needs to be accessible, you will need to do a lot of customization and/or use a different typesetting or word processing system.
- Making Accessible Documents Using LaTeXFrom the Notices of the American Mathematical Society, this article explores the challenges of accessible publishing with LaTeX.
- Tagged PDF ProjectPublications on accessibility (and progress toward accessible PDFs) from the LaTeX Project.