Fiscal Years 2018 and 2021 available. UW-Madison access only. Downloadable, compressed folders that provide data in ASCII, SAS®, comma delimited, and Microsoft® Access formats for use in a statistical application or other database management programs. Provides statistics from more than 6,200 hospitals and more than 400 health care systems included information statistics/info on: organizational structure; services; insurance and payment models; beds and utilization; expenses; staffing; affiliations.

UW-Madison access only. This is a downloadable Microsoft Excel file (Hospital Statistics 2020.xlsx).

Provides the latest research and analysis of important and emerging trends in the hospital and health care field. AHA sponsors or conducts policy research in the areas of provider payment, the cost of health care, information technology and other topics to assist members and policy makers in understanding issues critical to America’s hospitals.

Provides health care statistics and information for hospital inpatient, emergency department, and ambulatory settings, as well as population-based health care data on counties.

Provide healthcare statistics on hospital inpatient stays, emergency department visits, and ambulatory surgeries. Topics include medical conditions treated, procedures performed, patient populations served, and quality of care. Information is presented in tables and figures, accompanied by explanatory text.

Comprehensive research and data concerning the long term and post-acute care sector.

Some information and features are only for subscribers.

Statistics for non-federal, short-term, acute care hospitals are summarized by state.

In non-Federal short-stay hospitals

The Health and Medical Care Archive (HMCA) is the data archive of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF),

Compare hospitals based on their overall star rating, which summarizes a variety of quality measures.

Reviews hospitals' performance in adult and pediatric clinical specialties, procedures and conditions. Scores are based on several factors, including survival, patient safety, nurse staffing and more. Hospitals are ranked nationally in specialties from cancer to urology and rated in common procedures and conditions, such as heart bypass surgery, hip and knee replacement and COPD. Hospitals are also ranked regionally within states and major metro areas.

AHRQ. a set of large-scale surveys of families and individuals, their medical providers, and employers across the United States. MEPS is the most complete source of data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage.

The Health and Medical Care Archive (HMCA) is the data archive of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF),