Surveys developed and conducted to monitor state-level prevalence of the major behavioral risks among adults associated with premature morbidity and mortality.

An annual report on trends in health statistics. Presents national trends in health statistics. Each report includes an executive summary, highlights, a chart book, trend tables, extensive appendixes, and an index.

Provide statistical information that will guide actions and policies to improve the health of the American people. As the Nation’s principal health statistics agency, NCHS leads the way with accurate, relevant, and timely data.

Monitors six categories of health-related behaviors that contribute to the leading causes of death and disability among youth and adults, including: Behaviors that contribute to unintentional injuries and violence; sexual behaviors related to unintended pregnancy and sexually transmitted diseases, including HIV infection; alcohol and other drug use; tobacco use; unhealthy dietary behaviors; inadequate physical activity. Also measures the prevalence of obesity and asthma and other health-related behaviors plus sexual identity and sex of sexual contacts. Includes a national school-based survey conducted by CDC and state, territorial, tribal, and local surveys conducted by state, territorial, and local education and health agencies and tribal governments.

Nearly 20 collections of public-use data for U.S. births, deaths, cancer diagnoses, tuberculosis cases, vaccinations, environmental exposures, and population estimates, among many other topics. Collections are available as online databases, which provide public access to ad-hoc queries, summary statistics, maps, charts, and data extracts. Most of the data are updated annually; some updated monthly or weekly.

Find data on a wide range of topics, including environmental health, medical devices, Medicare & Medicaid, social services, community health, mental health, and substance abuse. Data is collected from agencies from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services as well as state partners. This includes the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Food and Drug Administration, and the Agency for Health Care Research and Quality, among others.

DATA2020 is an interactive data tool, allows users to explore data and technical information related to the Healthy People 2020 objectives.

Data Resource Center for Child & Adolescent Health.

Often called “the voice of CDC,” the MMWR series is the agency’s primary vehicle for scientific publication of timely, reliable, authoritative, accurate, objective, and useful public health information and recommendations.

Detailed mortality tables prepared by the Division of Vital Statistics, National Center for Health Statistics, include data on age, race, sex, cause-of-death, life expectancy, and infant mortality.

Annual reports that present detailed vital statistics data, including natality, mortality, marriage and divorce. These reports are available for download.

Public use Birth, Period Linked Birth – Infant Death, birth cohort Linked Birth – Infant Death, Mortality Multiple Cause, and Fetal Death data files are available for independent research and analyses.

United Health Foundation. Provides an analysis of national health on a state-by-state basis by evaluating a historical and comprehensive set of health, environmental and socioeconomic data to determine national health benchmarks and state rankings.

Provides a source of data on children and families

Explore state health system performance and policy data through custom tables, graphs and maps

Provides access to the state reports, ranking each county within the states according to its health outcomes and the multiple health factors that determine a county’s health.

Dartmouth Institute for Health Policy and Clinical Practice. Provides a source of data for researchers, payers, regulators, and innovators with metrics quantifying the temporal and regional patterns of health care spending and utilization, particularly with regard to the diffusion and exnovation of medical interventions. Allows downloading of complete datasets of selected variables spanning decades; newer data will be posted as they become available.

A tool to build a custom report compiling health-related data for a single state or multiple states. Choose from hundreds of State Health Facts indicators to create a report.

Cancer statistics, charts, and maps by data topic across the cancer control continuum. Includes demographics, screening and risk factors, cancer knowledge, incidence, prevalence, mortality.

State Health Access Data Assistance Center/University of Minnesota/Robert Wood Johnson Foundation. Tool for obtaining state-level estimates related to health and health care—such as insurance coverage, access, cost, utilization, and outcomes—as well as equity and economic measures.