Graphic Design : Books & EBooks
Search Tips for the Library Catalog
- Start your search with keywords that describe the major concepts of your research topic.
- Is the book you want not at Madison? Don't hesitate to request it from another UW school--delivery is quick!
- Searching for the following words is an easy way to retrieve results on certain topics.
Digital Databases
Use these databases to search for journals and/or articles about your various design topics!
Art Full Text: EBSCO database providing access to scholarly articles, art reproductions, artist interviews and profiles, and more. Also covers related fields, such as media, culture, women's studies, and history.
Art Forum Archive: Digitized archive of leading magazine for international contemporary art in all media, with coverage from 1962 to 2020.
ArtStor: Large collection of digital images in the areas of arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences from the world's museums, archives, libraries, scholars, and artists.
Design and Applied Arts Index (DAAI): Collection of abstracts and bibliographic records for articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals from 1973 onwards.
WGSN Lifestyle & Interiors: In-depth reports and trends on marketing strategy and experience design. It includes color forecasts, information on material research, coverage of trade shows, and consumer research news.
How to browse for books in the Kohler Art Library
At the Kohler Art Library, you can browse for books on a topic by categorical color!
Looking for books on Graphic Design topics? Take a look at "NC-Forest Green", "NX-Lavender", or "Z-Black"
If you find a book in our online catalog, you will see the words "Regular", "Reference", "Oversize", "Cage", "Artist Book", or "Locked". Each of these designations can be found in certain places in the library. When you walk into the front doors of the library and walk right, you will be greeted by our "Regular" size books. Walk to the left, and you will find our "Reference" and "Oversize" books. Do you need something from the "Cage" or "Locked" sections or an Artist Book? Ask someone at the Circulation Desk next to the doors of the library to help!
Have more questions? Ask the Circulation Desk to assist you in finding books!
Book Spotlight
Type spaces : typography in three-dimensional spaces
Type Spaces explores the new meanings that become apparent in text when we can touch it or otherwise inhabit it - as image, form and language converge. It turns out that we have fascinating encounters with typography as it enters three-dimensional space, interacting in ways that go beyond the boundaries of what the page or screen allows. Type Spaces puts forward the best examples of these experiences by gathering examples of typographic hybrids in architecture, interiors, furniture, jewelry and other objects.
Typography
This book is the legacy of Emil Ruder, one of the originator of Swiss Style, famous throughout the world for the use of asymmetric layouts, use of a grid, sans-serif typefaces and flush left, ragged right text. His holistic approach is still recognized as fundamental for graphic designers and typographers all over the world. The voume is a comprehensive masterpiece seen in its overall structure: in the themes presented, in the comparison of similarities and contrasts, in the richness of the illustrations and the harmoniously inserted types.
Logo Design Love
In Logo Design Love, David shows you how to develop an iconic brand identity from start to finish, using client case studies from renowned designers.
Designer's Guide to Color 3
The books that make up the Designer's Guide to Color series were created as professional tools for the graphic designer, but with more than 1,000 innovative color combinations presented in each volume, they are an invaluable reference to anyone making a decision about color.
A Smile in the Mind
Forty years of "witty thinking" from over 500 designers, including hundreds of visual examples and interviews with the world's top practitioners
Vintage Type and Graphics
Exquisite graphic design artifacts comprise this unusual collection culled from the pages of type and typography books dating from 1896 to 1936. Design professionals, students and teachers of graphic design, and anyone with an interest in vintage design will be delighted to find rare, never-before-reprinted type specimens, vintage layouts, logos, and decorations that will serve as an inspiration and resource for practicing and aspiring graphic designers.
The Graphic Design Reader
The Graphic Design Reader brings together key readings in this ever-changing field to provide an essential resource for students, researchers and practitioners.