- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- Art
- Graphic Design
- Artists' Books & Zines
Graphic Design : Artists' Books & Zines
Artists' Books & Zines Information
The Kohler Art Library has the largest collection of Artists' Books of any public university in the U.S. Many of these books emphasize graphic design, typography, and printmaking. Explore these items digitally via the UW Artists' Book Digital Collections.
Faculty, students, and the general public can explore the collection in person by making an appointment: askart@library.wisc.edu.
The art library also has a selection of zines, some of which can be checked out. Even more zines are available through the UW Historical Society, Special Collections, and the iSchool Library.
Check out the Zine Collection at the Library of Congress Archives as well!
A Selection of our Artists' Books
Fairmont Color Card: FCC by Call Number: Sarah Bryant - Artist Book CollectionPublication Date: 2021Fairmont Color Card is an exploration of the roles of textile, color, and fashion in the origin story of landfill culture. Text for the project was culled from 1977-1978 Home Furnishing Color Card, produced by The Color Association of the United States, Inc. and The Wastemakers, written by Vance Packard in 1960. Designed and produced between 2019 and 2021, the project began in one place and ended in another. Materials for this project include my sheets, my clothes, and thread color matched to these textile samples the walls, hair, and skin found in my home. Produced in an edition of twenty copies, the fabric collages included in this project are all identical save for one, the card titled "the significance of these private worlds," which is unique to each copy.
Mask by Call Number: Amos Paul Kennedy, Jr. - Artist Book CollectionPublication Date: 2000This large-format book contains poetry and relief-cut images of masks. The type is layered in varying styles and sizes, including some large woodblock type. The word "mask" appears repeatedly and overlapping in red, green and blue on an exposed binder's board cover that has been coated with a glossy finish.
Six by Six by Six by Call Number: Richard Tipping - Artist Book CollectionPublication Date: 1999COLOPHON: Richard Tipping wordworks
Dikko Faust hand typography
Esther K Smith art direction
TITLES & TYPES
handset wood and metal type
Signed by the artists.
Number: 141/216.
Understanding this book : or, Zen and the art of metal type maintenance, or, let's see your AI do this by Call Number: Artists' Book Collection - Folio -- N7433.4.K675 U534 2023Publication Date: 2023This artists' book features every sort from nine California job cases of metal ATF Franklin Gothic typefaces in desperate need of cleaning, arranged according to a variety of strategies only likely to occur when composing individual metal types by hand. Printed on a Vandercook SP-15 with hints of dada and concrete poetry.
