Community Science; Participatory Science : Library Collections and Services

Building community engagement with university research.

Databases for Finding Research Literature (Library-Licensed)

"Library-licensed" resources require a visit to a subscribing library in order to use the resource. Off-campus access to UW-Madison library-licensed databases is permitted to registered students, faculty and staff who may log in with their UW-Madison NetID and password.

Academic Search
Multidisciplinary database providing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including approximately 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. A total of 8,500 journals are indexed and abstracted.
Also available through BadgerLink.
Agriculture and Environmental Science
Multidisciplinary database to research literature covering areas of air, land, water, and noise pollution as well as basic science areas of bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, environmental engineering, environmental biotechnology, waste management, and water resources.
Biological Abstracts
Indexes more than 4,000 journals annually! Subject matter includes anatomy, bacteriology, behavioral sciences, cell biology, clinical medicine, genetics, immunology, microbiology, nutrition, parasitology, pathology, pharmacology, physiology, and systematic biology, toxicology, virology, and zoology.
BioOne
Access to peer-reviewed research in biological, ecological, and environmental sciences. Thirteen BioOne Open Access titles are available through this resource.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center)
Indexes more than 1.3 million bibliographic records in education research.
Also available through BadgerLink.
GreenFILE
Covers aspects of human impact on the environment, including such topics as global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
Also available through BadgerLink.
Web of Science
Combination of three databases: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It indexes more than 8,000 peer-reviewed journals, providing complete bibliographic data and author abstracts.
Coverage: 1982 - (Arts & Humanities), 1965 - (Science), 1900 - (Social Sciences)
Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide
Indexes and abstracts literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians from journals, conferences and symposia, government reports, grey literature, books, theses, and field studies. Coverage includes studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, ecotourism, zoology, taxonomy and more.
Zoological Record
Comprehensive coverage of worldwide zoological literature, including international journals, review annuals, monographs, meeting proceedings, books, and reports. Emphasis is on systematic/taxonomic information on various animal groups, including protozoa, nematoda, pisces, reptilia, aves, and mammalia.

Equipment to Borrow from UW-Madison Libraries

Faculty, staff, and students will be able to borrow equipment by presenting their Wiscard at participating InfoLabs and libraries. Please follow these links to review available equipment, loan periods, and policies.

Regional 'Libraries of Things', Equipment, Kits, and More

Madison community members will be able to borrow equipment and kits from branch libraries. Please follow the link, below, to review available equipment, loan periods and policies.

"Library of Things", Madison Public Library
The "Library of Things" page includes a list of extra and specialty items that are available to borrow from some or all of the Madison public branch libraries--includes Maker and STEM kits.