Overview
This page contains links to resources for environmental health sciences.
Databases
-
GreenFILEGreenFILE offers information covering all aspects of human impact on the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles include content on the environmental effects of individuals, corporations and local/national governments, and what can be done on each level to minimize negative impact. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 600,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 9,000 records. (Updated regularly)
-
Haz-MapHaz-Map is an occupational toxicology database providing information about the adverse effects of workplace exposures to chemical and biological agents. The main links in Haz-Map are between chemicals and occupational diseases. Haz-Map shows the diseases linked to each agent and the agents linked to each disease. Agents are chemical such as formaldehyde, or biological such as grain dust. Haz-Map also links jobs and hazardous job tasks with occupational diseases and their symptoms.
-
PolicyMapMapping tool useful for examining relationships between demographics, environment, and health. Useful alternative for former CDC EJScreen and Environmental Justice Dashboard.
-
NIEHS DatabasesA list of National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS) databases & galleries as resources to scientists.
-
Proquest's Agricultural and Environmental Science CollectionThe Agricultural & Environmental Science Database is a cross-disciplinary resource of full-text content along with indexing of global literature across these fields and related disciplines. Peer-reviewed journals, trade publications, magazines, and grey literature as well as working papers, conference papers and proceedings are included.
-
Toxicology AbstractsThis database covers 214 journals with emphasis on studies relating to industrial and agricultural chemicals, household products, and pharmaceuticals. It includes studies dealing with natural toxin in the environment; the effect of alcohol and smoking, drug abuse and other substance abuse to the human body; toxicity testing methodology and analytical procedures; and legislation and recommended standards to environmental issues. (Updated monthly)
-
Water Resources AbstractsThis database provides summaries of the world's technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources. Abstracts are drawn from journals, books, conference proceedings, and technical reports in the physical and life sciences, as well as from engineering, legal and government publications. (Updated quarterly)
Additional Resources
-
Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR)The Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR) is a federal public health agency of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. ATSDR protects communities from harmful health effects related to exposure to natural and man-made hazardous substances. The site includes toxicological profiles, health assessments, and additional resources relating to hazardous substances.
-
Environmental Health Chat"This podcast series explores how environmental exposures affect our health. Each episode highlights ways researchers work in partnership with community groups to understand and address environmental health issues."
-
Formaldehyde Cancer Risk Map - ProPublicaIn most of the country, formaldehyde contributes more to outdoor cancer risk than any other toxic air pollutant. Look up your address to see risks from the chemical on your block and where it comes from.
-
NIH's Pathways to Prevention (P2P)Pathways to Prevention (P2P) workshops identify research gaps in a selected scientific area, identify methodological and scientific weaknesses in that scientific area, suggest research needs, and move the field forward through an unbiased, evidence-based assessment of a complex public health issue.
-
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)The EPA provides information on the environmental hazards that can threaten our health.
-
Wisconsin DHS - Environmental Health Data DashboardsCollection of dashboards exploring Wisconsin residents; environmental health.
-
Wisconsin Department of Natural ResourcesData on natural resources in Wisconsin, such as air quality, drinking water quality, landfills, and more.
Finding Deleted Government Data
Here is where this guide will attempt to gather sources that document, archive, or otherwise preserve public health related websites, publications, and data that have been removed from CDC, NIH, and HHS websites.
Determining If/How Something Has Changed
Not sure if a government website has changed since you saw it last? The best option is to find an archived version of the webpage and compare it to its current form (see Finding Webpages) below.
You can also check on Tracking Gov Info to see crowdsourced reporting of government sites, resources, and data changes or removals, though this may not be comprehensive. You can also use the website's form to report a resource you've noticed has changed.
-
Tracking Gov InfoThis is a crowdsourced list of government websites, resources, and datasets that have been changed or removed to help researchers identify if and how things have changed.
Finding Webpages
-
The WayBack MachineA digital archive of webpages that allows you to explore older versions of websites that have been updated, altered, or deleted.
-
Finding Archived Websites HandoutThis handout provides instruction on how to use the WayBack Machine to find archived versions of web pages.
Finding Datasets
-
The Data Rescue ProjectA clearinghouse for data rescue-related efforts and data access points for public US governmental data that are currently at risk. The data-rescue tracker tool allows you to follow preservation efforts for specific datasets and find where rescued data has been archived.
-
CDC Datasets uploaded before 1/28/2025An archive of all CDC datasets uploaded to https://data.cdc.gov/browse before January 28th, 2025. Excludes corrupt datasets and data not publicly accessible. To see what datasets are included, under download options at the very bottom, select Show All.