Literature Databases
Below are a selection of databases you can use to find literature in Biotechnology.
- PubMedPubMed is maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM). It contains over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
- ScopusLarge, multidisciplinary database that covers science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- Web of ScienceWeb of Science was originally produced by the Institute for Scientific Information and is currently maintained by Clarivate Analytics. Web of Science provides subscription-based access to multiple, interdisciplinary databases, and contains citations for traditional scholarly articles and gray literature.
- Biotechnology Research AbstractsThe Biotechnology Research Abstracts database provides bibliographic coverage on biotechnology (medical, agricultural, and environmental) and bioengineering.
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar contains articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
Not finding what you're looking for? Check out Ebling Library's Health Sciences Databases A-Z, or the UW Library's Database Search to find more databases. Note that some databases in the UW Library's Database Search may be inaccessible to you due to subscription restrictions.
Patent Information
Below are a selection of resources where you can find patent information.
- National Institutes of Health, Office of Technology TransferThe NIH Office of Technology Transfer evaluates, protects, markets, licenses, monitors, and manages the wide range of NIH and FDA discoveries, inventions, and other intellectual property as mandated by the Federal Technology Transfer Act and related legislation.
- Patents and Trademarks Research GuideA guide to information on patents and trademarks, patent searching, inventor resources and UW intellectual property resources.
- United States Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO)Search full text of US patents from 1976 to the present.
- World Intellectual Property OrganizationThe World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) is the United Nations agency dedicated to the use of intellectual property (patents, copyright, trademarks, designs, etc.) as a means of stimulating innovation and creativity.
Additional Resources
- FDA: BiotechnologyThis page of the U.S. Food and Drug Administration's site provides guidance documents and regulatory information relating to Biotechnology.
- National Center for Biotechnology InformationThe National Center for Biotechnology Information is part of the United States National Library of Medicine (NLM), a branch of the National Institutes of Health (NIH). This link allows you to search all of NCBI's databases, including databases containing genetic and chemical information .
- Nature BiotechnologyNews relating to Biotechnology from the journal, Nature.
- Pharmacy Research GuideFor links to drug information sources, please see the Pharmacy Research Guide.
Accessing Articles
Find It 
Find It provides links from a citation in a database to the full text of that article, if available, and to other helpful resources and services such as an automatic search of the Library Catalog, a direct link to an interlibrary loan form, and a link to ask for additional assistance from a librarian.
The Find It button should automatically appear in select databases if you access them through the library's proxy.
Interlibrary Loan and Article Delivery
If the library doesn't have access to a full text article you can request the full text through the library's Interlibrary Loan and Article Delivery Service.
Citation Finder
Locate articles when you have a citation using Citation Search.
Download BrowZine for e-journals
You can use Browzine to browse journals. Your UW NetID login is required after downloading the software. Apple, Android, and Kindle readers are supported. Note that not all Biotechnology journals are included in this tool.