Italian Literature and Linguistics : E-texts

OVI is a searchable database of 22.3 million words (456,000 unique forms) in nearly 2000 texts in early Italian by medieval writers (mostly prior to 1375). Laid under contribution are works by the literary giants Dante, Petrarch, and Boccaccio as well as lesser-known and even obscure texts by poets, merchants, and chroniclers. A search form allows one to define a search by such criteria as author's name, title of work, date, specific linguistic area, general form (verse, prose, or mixed), and genre.

Humanist and Renaissance Italian Poetry in Latin is a searchable database of scholarly editions of Latin verse written in Italy in the thirteenth, fourteenth, fifteenth, and sixteenth-centuries. It complements (with very little overlap) the Archivio della Latinità Italiana del Medioevo (ALIM).

The Dartmouth Dante Project (DDP) is a searchable full-text database containing more than seventy commentaries on Dante's Divine Comedy.

This XML electronic edition of Boccaccio's Decameron and other works, and the accompanying hypermedia archive of contextual materials, are conceived as an encyclopedic gateway into late Medieval life and culture.

IWW includes authors from the 13th century up to authors born in 1945. The following types of works are included: anthologies, articles and essays, autobiographies, biographies, children's literature, devotional works, dialogues, diaries, dramas, epics, hagiographies, histories and chronicles, interviews and conversations, letters, memoirs, novels, operas, poems, reviews, short stories, and travel literature.

The Princeton Dante Project opened for local use on 18 May 1999. The PDP combines a traditional approach to the study of Dante's Comedy with new techniques of compiling and consulting data, images, and sound.

The World of Dante is a multi-media research tool intended to facilitate the study of the Divine Comedy through a wide range of offerings. These include an encoded Italian text which allows for structured searches and analyses, an English translation, interactive maps, diagrams, music, a database, timeline and gallery of illustrations. Many of these features allow users to engage the poem dynamically through the integrated components of this site.