Skip to Main Content

Italian Literature and Linguistics : Articles & Journals

Ask a Librarian

 

Need help?

Ask a Librarian

Loading chat

or click for more options ...

Article Search Tools

Locate articles when you have a citation by using Citation Search

Need to cite articles, books, or Web pages?

UW-Madison Writing Center's Writer's Handbook has tips on citation styles (APA, Chicago, CBE, MLA, etc.).

Information on how to avoid plagiarism from UW-Madison's Writing Center.

Click here for a basic video on how to cite your sources.

Use citation managers to organize your references and create bibliographies. Citation managers such as  EndNote, EndNote Basic, Mendeley, or Zotero are software tools for managing your citations.  These will help you:

  • Create and organize a personal research database
  • Download citations from online databases
  • Format bibliographies and citations in papers
  • Share your citations with others

Core Databases

  • MLA International Bibliography
    Over 2.1 million citations of journal articles, books, and dissertations. Subjects covered include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory and criticism, and dramatic arts.
  • ITER: Gateway to the Reinassance
    225,000+ records from more than 300 scholarly journal titles pertaining to the Renaissance (1300-1700) and Middle Ages(400-1299). Under construction is a bibliography of monographs.
  • Linguistic and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
    All aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics. Complete coverage of various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics. Abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from 1,500+ serials publications, and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, and dissertations.
  • Literature Resource Center
    Information on a large number of authors and literary works from Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and other sources. Includes full-text articles from more than 130 literary journals, a dictionary of literary terms, and links to 5,000 relevant Web sites and special collections.
  • OVI: Opera del Vocabolario Italiano (ARTFL Project)
    Searchable database of 22.3 million words in nearly 2000 texts in early Italian by medieval writers (mostly prior to 1375) such as Dante, Petrarch, and Boccaccio as well as lesser-known and obscure texts by poets, merchants, and chroniclers. It can be searched by author's name, title of work, date, specific linguistic area, general form, and genre.
  • Humanist and Renaissance Italian Poetry in Latin
    Searchable database of scholarly editions of Latin verse written in Italy in the thirteenth, fourteenth, fifteenth, and sixteenth-centuries. It complements (with very little overlap) the Archivio della Latinità Italiana del Medioevo (ALIM).

Suggested Journals

This list is a small sample of some useful journals for research in Italian Literature.

Tips for Searching

AND, OR, NOT (Keyword Boolean)

  • Use AND, OR, NOT to combine search terms
  • Use quotation marks to indicate phrases: "Divina Commedia"
  • Use opening and closing parentheses to group search terms
  • Use ? or * to truncate: donna? or donna*  (will find singular and plural forms). Note that the use of truncation symbols vary in each database or catalog.
  • There is no need to write with diacritics (accents, tildes, etc.)

Examples:

Dante AND (tema? OR critica?)

Dante AND “Divina Commedia”

“primo Ottocento” AND romanzo AND Italy

"social aspects" AND “italian literature”

Italian AND raddoppiamento

Italian AND "clitic placement"