- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- FW ECOL 515: Natural Resources Policy (Fall 2023)
- Scientific Literature & Data
FW ECOL 515: Natural Resources Policy (Fall 2023) : Scientific Literature & Data
Selected Databases: Environment, Forestry, Natural Resources
- Agricultural and Environmental SciencePlatform for searchable access to peer-reviewed journals (plus conference proceedings, magazines, trade publications and more) and across several smaller databases including Ecology Abstracts, Toxicology Abstracts, Water Resources Abstracts.
- CAB AbstractsSearchable access to journals covering applied life sciences--agriculture, agricultural economics, entomology, forestry, nutrition, rural sociology, soil science, etc.
- GreenFILEAccess to journal literature, government, and general interest publications covering aspects of human impacts upon the environment--climate change, pollution, renewable energies, etc.
- TreesearchResearch publications from the US Forest Service.
- Wildlife and Ecology Studies WorldwideSearchable access to journal articles (plus government reports, book chapters, field studies and surveys) treating such topics as individual species, habitats, wildlife behavior, management, ecotourism, etc.
Selected Databases: Government, Law, Public Affairs, Social Science
- Law Journal Library (HeinOnline)Full-text legal periodicals plus historical texts, international materials, and primary legal materials including the Federal Register, U.S. Statutes at Large, U.S. Reports & attorney general opinions, state session laws, and more.
- PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service)Searchable access to more than 900 journals, books chapters, government publications, and reports of public, intergovernmental, and private organizations covering public policies, social policies.
- SocINDEXSearchable access to the journal literature, books, and conference proceedings of sociology including criminal justice, political sociology, social psychology, etc.
Searching Tips for Library-Licensed Databases
- Use AND to combine search terms; retrieve records with those terms, in any order: friends AND communication
- Use OR to combine similar search terms or synonyms: friends OR peers
- Use quotation marks ( " ") to search a required phrase: "interpersonal communication"
- Use an asterisk ( * ) to retrieve singular and plural forms or suffixes for search terns: friend* = friend, friends, friendly or friendship
- Review "subject headings" or "descriptors" to identify additional and useful search terms.
- Apply limits or filters to your results (by date, document type, or other).
Get the Full Text
Follow (Find It button) or the "Find It at UW Madison" link in most databases to:
- get online full text (when available)
- see if the journal is available in print (Library Catalog)
- request a copy of the article if full text is not available online ("Request a Copy" link)
If you already have a citation, use this Citation Search to search for your article.
Using Google Scholar
Google Scholar is Google's search engine for finding articles from a variety of source providers--publishers, professional societies, institutional repositories. While there may be some GS full-text, save Scholar preferences to access our Libraries' subscriptions. If following our library link to GS, above, no setting will be necessary.
From off-campus and entering GS directly (scholar.google.com), then set your library link preference:
- Select Scholar Preferences.
- Search for the name of your library in the Library Links section (for example, enter UW Madison).
- Check boxes for your campus library system and Open WorldCat “Library Search”.
- Click Save Preferences in order to generate an active "Find It at UW-Madison" link.