| NOTE: These are the holdings in the US from a survey done in 2013. This inventory is still a work in progress. The information in italics needs to be verified by the holding institutions. |
| Institution |
# of Cordel Holdings |
Individually Catalogued |
Notes |
| Brigham Young Univ. |
18 |
No |
|
| Cornell University |
21 |
No |
(Romance de Cordel) |
| U Indiana-Bloomington |
60 |
Yes |
Some catalogued. 5 cases, 60 pamphlets. Romance de Cordel |
| U Pennsylvania |
60 |
Yes |
5 cases, 60 pamphlets (Rom de Cordel), Unknown total exact number of individual cordels. |
| Vanderbilt University |
78 |
No |
78 (lit. de cordel) 32(Rom de Cordel). Titles listed in record. |
| UC-Berkeley |
86 |
No |
53 (Lit. de Cordel) 33(Teatro de Cordel). Microfilm: Princeton Series 4 (5 reels) |
| Michigan State Univ. |
92 |
No |
|
| U Florida |
97 |
No |
in 2 boxes |
| Florida International University |
100 |
No |
Collection from Academia Brasileira de Literatura de Cordel (ABLC). |
| U Chicago |
350 |
No |
|
| Brown University |
420 |
Yes |
|
| U Kansas |
445 |
Yes |
Approx. number of cordel chapbooks. Xilogravura included. |
| Yale University |
500 |
Yes |
Approx. number of cordel chapbooks. Brazilian ballads & Songs. |
| Harvard University |
677 |
Yes |
Some catalogued. Harvard Depository, request. HU also holds Microfilm Princeton Series 4, Some chapbooks searchable by title. |
| Stanford University |
1,030 |
No |
|
| U Texas-Austin |
1,035 |
No |
|
| U Illinois-UC |
1,550 |
Yes |
Microfilmed Chapbooks |
| Princeton University |
1,593 |
No |
List of titles on-line, some covers, Microfilm: Princeton Series 4 |
| U Wisconsin-Madison |
1,742* |
No |
|
| U California-Riverside |
4,000 |
No |
Finding aid by subject. Besides chapbooks, UC-Riverside owns woodblocks, microfilm of old cordels from Casa Rui Barbosa, audio tapes of cantadores also from Casa Rui Barbosa. |
| U California-LA |
4,100 |
No |
in 24 boxes |
| U New Mexico-Albuquerque |
4,600 |
Yes |
Approx. number of cordel chapbooks. Cat records include additional subject headings. |
| Library of Congress |
9,000 |
No |
Estimated number. LC has several cordel collections, all housed at the American Folklife Center. Their largest collection, called the "Literatura de Cordel Brazilian Chapbook Collection" has around 8,387 chapbooks. LC is in the process of creating finding Aids. NOTE: In addition to the chapbooks, LC has a number of large-sized wood block prints created by Jose Borges and some audio recordings of coderl being performed in Brazil. |
| Arizona State University |
Unknown |
No |
Unknown number of individual chapbooks. Bound in books by ABLC (?) |
| SUNY-Buffalo |
Unknown |
No |
Only Microfilm: Lat Am Docs, Reel 1125, item 5. |
| Tulane University |
Unknown |
No |
3 collections of various cordel. Bounded. |
| U Nebraska |
Unknown |
No |
Only Microfilm: 1 reel, 79 leaves |
| U Pittsburgh |
Unknown |
No |
Only Microfilm: 1 reel, 79 leaves |
| U Iowa |
Unknown |
Yes |
Unknown number of individual chapbooks. Bound collections of cordel. Some catalogued. |
| NY Public Library |
Unknown |
Yes |
Microfilm: 177 pamphlets, Lampião: 1reel, Brazilian Chapbooks: 12 reels |
| TOTAL U.S. HOLDINGS as of 2013 |
31,654 |
|
|